Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 24, 2014, 09:19:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Does this frame look normal?  (Read 5892 times)
tejas
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Location: Red Oak, Texas


WWW
« on: June 21, 2004, 09:32:17 PM »

I did my inspection yesterday and it has been 7 weeks since I installed the bees. They finally got 7 out of 10 frames drawn out so I installed the second deep. I have not seen the queen since my second inspection but I have found eggs, larva and capped brood so she must be there somewhere. Most of the frames are drawn out to the bottom of the frame but as you can see the one below is not. Is it common to have  frames that looks like this. Also, is the arrow pointing to a swarm cell? With only one hive, I can really see the value in having another to compare them with each other.


Logged
BigRog
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 111

Location: Richmond, Virginia


« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2004, 09:40:26 PM »

To post a pic it must be online.

Many people here upload their images here:
http://www.imagestation.com/index.html
Once you have the pic in a album there I don't know why but it has to be in a album. view the pic from the album and right click on it. Click on propperties. You will see the web address of the pic. Copy the address (Highlight it and click on edit copy on your menu bar. then in the post where you want to place your pick type " and there ya go. Dont use the quotation marks and it's easier than it sounds.
Logged

"Lurch my good man,…what did you mean when you said just now that 'You've got better things to do than run my petty little errands'…….?"
tejas
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Location: Red Oak, Texas


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2004, 09:45:35 PM »

Thanks BigRog, hopefully they will come up this time.

Logged
mark
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 179

Location: williamstown n.j.


« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2004, 10:01:07 PM »

i don't have a lot of experience but my guess would be that if this frame was in the bottom box and you were feeding you stopped too soon or the necter flow has slacked off.  i won't put a second brood box on 'til i make sure all 10 frames are drawn out correctly.  i have torn down overlapped comb  and kept feeding until the bees drew it out proper. this means moving the outside frames between center ones.   the outside frames sometimes wind up looking like the one in your picture.  
   what the arrow points to may be just a play cell or it could be a supercedure cell. is this hive a new package or a swarm?
   you need to find the queen first or at least verify some eggs to make sure she is there before you do anything with that cell. is it closed or still open.
    it could also be a drone cell in a transition area. sometimes they look odd also.
Logged
Beth Kirkley
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103

Location: Eastman, Georgia


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2004, 10:23:57 PM »

tejas-
You have to have the pictures on a site on the web, like imagestation. I fixed your first post though so that it's a link (url) to the pic. It can be seen now atleast by clicking on it.
But to have the picture show up on the forum, you have to have it on one of the image sites. Do not use webshots though. Smiley It's terrible!

About the picture..... is that a queen cell? It's hard to see at that distance, but could be. Does it look like one of these?

Supercedure cell:

click for larger image


Swarm cell:

click for larger image


Drone cells:

click for larger image


Beth
Logged

tejas
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Location: Red Oak, Texas


WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2004, 10:36:20 PM »

Beth,

On the third attempt I went to image station and created an album and posted the links but they still did not come up.  Not sure what I did wrong? I used the image tag and posted it like this but without the quotation marks.

""
Logged
Beth Kirkley
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103

Location: Eastman, Georgia


WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2004, 11:01:19 PM »

I looked at your post - in the edit mode - and here's something I noticed. Your link isn't as long as one should be.
OK...... here's what mine looks like (spaces added after clicking on the image thingy):



Then without the spaces it becomes this:


So do you see how my "link" is longer? Not sure what you did. Did you right click on the picture you wanted to post? And then go to properties, and then get the url that's there?

Yours is like this (with spaces):




Beth
Logged

tejas
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Location: Red Oak, Texas


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2004, 11:18:33 PM »

Beth,

When I right click on the image in the album I created I'm not getting access to properties. To get to properties I have to click on the image and bring it up in a seperate browser window then go to File at top of browser then properties from the drop down menu. That’s where I got the link I posted.
Logged
Finman
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 440


Location: Hopelessly Lost


« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2004, 12:21:10 AM »

Quote from: tejas
I did my inspection yesterday and it has been 7 weeks since I installed the bees. ........

 Is it common to have  frames that looks like this. Also, is the arrow pointing to a swarm cell?
http://a-1gutters.com/b2.html


During 40 years I have not seen that kind of frame: bottom plate and brood together!  

That "swarm cell" is only a bottom cup. It means nothing. They do these very often.

Do you have bees enough in your hive? Or this unit some kind "not normal problems". ----> Change a queen.
Logged
Beth Kirkley
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103

Location: Eastman, Georgia


WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2004, 12:50:41 AM »

What's a bottom cup and a bottom plate? I've never heard these terms before. Granted, I've only been beekeeping for a year. Smiley

Beth
Logged

Finman
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 440


Location: Hopelessly Lost


« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2004, 03:02:39 AM »

Quote from: Beth Kirkley
What's a bottom cup and a bottom plate? I've never heard these terms before. Granted, I've only been beekeeping for a year. Smiley

Beth


I just woke upp and wrote it. plate means wax plate we install in frames. I dont know what it is in English.  Bottom cup is queen cell cup, what is that in English.
Sorry for my "cross cultural communication".  embarassed
Logged
Blackbird
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 126


Location: Santa Cruz, California USA


« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2004, 12:15:50 PM »

Finnman,
"Bottom plate" we call "foundation" and "bottom cup" I think is called "queen cup"

Stacie
Logged
beemaster
Site Founder
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6288


Location: Manchester, NJ

It is my pleasure to bring the forums to you.


WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2004, 04:19:36 PM »

I fixed the images so they can be view....

You were posting a HTML address NOT links directly to the jpg images...

the way to do it is the following without spaces:



put it all together an you get the image here - but if it ends in html - you are only gonna get a webpage link - NOT an image. Hope this helped.

About image location - you should have the option WHEN YOU RIGHT CLICK ON AN IMAGE to ?COPY IMAGE LOCATION" that is all you need to post into your forum post is the copied location - no need to go into properties if you have COPY LINK LOCATION when you right click.

By the way, the images look normal - it is hard to say if the cell pointed is a queen cell or an irregular worker cell. It does look like some of the comb is NOT being built up FROM THE FOUNDATION CELLS - which classify this as BURR COMB, but It looks like it's all working out ok in BOTH pics.

You can't always expect perfect comb building, but OVER TIME the cells will get tied in to the frames better and eventually it should all work out for long and prolifice brood frames.

Again, the cell looks to shallow for a queen cell, a side angle would be much easier to tell.
Logged

NJBeemaster my YOUTUBE Video Collection

Please enjoy the forum, and if it has helped you in any way, we hope that a small donation can be made to support our FULLY member supported forum. You will never see advertisements here, and that is because of the generous members who have made our forum possible. We are in our second decade as a beekeeping forum and all thanks to member support. At the top right of every page is a donations page link for more details. Please help if you can.
Lechwe
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


Location: Holt, Michigan


« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2004, 04:30:54 PM »

John,

I moved my pictures to imagestation so I could post. Everything is working fine but I do not get teh copy image location when I right click. I have to go to properties and actually copy the address. Not a problem just letting folks know that they may have to do it that way.

Logged

beemaster
Site Founder
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6288


Location: Manchester, NJ

It is my pleasure to bring the forums to you.


WWW
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2004, 06:37:23 PM »

Lechwe:

When you right click, do you have a VIW IMAGE option??? If so, click on that - THEN you see the image in its own window and the address at the top of the page ( location window) will be the link address to the photo and also, you SHOULD be able to RIGHT CLICK and choose OPY IMAGE LOCATION then...

Please give this a try and see if it works for me - thanks Smiley
Logged

NJBeemaster my YOUTUBE Video Collection

Please enjoy the forum, and if it has helped you in any way, we hope that a small donation can be made to support our FULLY member supported forum. You will never see advertisements here, and that is because of the generous members who have made our forum possible. We are in our second decade as a beekeeping forum and all thanks to member support. At the top right of every page is a donations page link for more details. Please help if you can.
tejas
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Location: Red Oak, Texas


WWW
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2004, 09:41:15 PM »

Just wanted to thank everyone for the help. I have two browsers on my computer and with the one I was using right clicking on the images was not bringing up properties. I tried it on the old browser and it worked fine so I'm sure this was my problem. As far as the bees one of the post said I should remove the second deep I put on this weekend because not all of the frames were drawn out. The book I have been referring to said to put it on when 7 of 10 frames were drawn. Is this not right? Also, when doing my inspections now should I inspect only the top chamber or both each time?
Logged
Beth Kirkley
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103

Location: Eastman, Georgia


WWW
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2004, 10:33:22 PM »

Yeah, putting the second super on is ok after they've filled up 7 frames. But know that they'll probably just move upstairs. If you do decide to keep the second super off, just watch them for when they get the other frames done. You don't want them feeling over crowded.

Personally I only look at what I need to when in the hive. If I'm checking how they've done on frames, I look there. If I want to know exactly how much room the queen has to lay, I look in both supers.

Beth
Logged

asleitch
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 203


Location: UK


« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2004, 08:47:47 AM »

Hey folks, you all seem to be having trouble quoting the URL's to pictures and having to put spaces and stuff in to make them viewable.

If you click the "code" button in the tags above, you can include anything inside, and it comes out as text e.g.

Code:
[img]http://a-1gutters.com/b3.jpg[/img]


So you can show people how to add their links in correctly.

Adam
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.286 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page December 07, 2014, 02:49:43 AM
anything