Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 02, 2014, 11:07:21 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: moving swarm to TBH  (Read 1920 times)
yoderski
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59

Location: Atmore, AL


« on: April 17, 2007, 12:09:12 AM »

Last Tuesday, I was fortunate enough to be able to capture 2 swarms. The one swarm went into a nuc that I had ready, but unfortunately, I was not fully prepared with a hive for the 2nd swarm, so I used 2 medium supers with a couple of normal size frames with comb, and then filled the rest of the box with top bars, but no actual frames.  So this swarm has been there for the past week, and from my schedule, I won't be able to give them a permanent home for another 6-7 days or so.  In the meantime, they seem to be doing well, as far as I can tell from the number of bees going in and out of the hive.  I was planning to move them to a new V-shaped TBH that I am building.  How can I do that effectively 2 weeks after obtaining the swarm??  If they already have some honey, and brood, is there a way to move that to the TBH?
Logged

Jon Y.
Atmore, AL
likes2grill
Dan
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 121


Location: Worthington Springs, Florida


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 06:53:17 AM »

I'm a new beek my self but this is what I'd do.....

  I'd put everything in the TBH ( comb, bees ) then move the TBH to where the old hive box was so that if any bees that are out flying will come back to the right hive and you should be fine.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13631


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 10:57:17 PM »

What is the length of the top bars in you TBH?
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
yoderski
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59

Location: Atmore, AL


« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2007, 06:20:20 PM »

Michael,
Logged

Jon Y.
Atmore, AL
yoderski
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59

Location: Atmore, AL


« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2007, 06:22:40 PM »

Sorry, pressed enter too early.  I am making the Kenyan TBH, using the plans on your web site, Michael.  So the bars will be 15" long.  However, I don't have any time this week to work on it, so it won't get made until next week.  By that time, the swarm has had 2 weeks to do whatever it is doing in the box they are currently in..I hope I don't have a mess on my hands...
Logged

Jon Y.
Atmore, AL
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13631


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2007, 02:55:23 PM »

You will have a mess.  One solution would be to  build "swarm ketching" frames for the KTBH and do a cutout.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.16 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page July 13, 2014, 09:03:12 AM
anything