Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 23, 2014, 02:36:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: "nucs" and catching swarms  (Read 1199 times)
bozbee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24

Location: Dickenson Co Virginia


« on: April 18, 2007, 11:33:22 AM »

Just starting out folks, 2 stands full of working bees, 2 shallow supers w/10 frames a piece. I'm getting 2 more supers this evening. I understand that I will need at least 2 supers per. My question is i really don't understand the concept of a "nuc". Is this just used to capture a swarm? Do I need a spare stand for any swarm that might be captured? How do i use the "nuc" to capure a swarm and do i keep them in it or use it as a transporter?
I know, a lot of questions. i have been reading this forum and other websites. Thanks for any info.
Logged
KONASDAD
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2011


Location: Cherry Hill, N.J.


« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2007, 12:03:46 PM »

A nuc (nucleous hive) is a small hive. It can hold anywheres from 2 to 8 frames in a super that is reduced in size to enable the bees to keep warm. They have numerous uses. they can hold a swrm if captured. Often used to aid in swarm prevention, banking queens, starting a hive from a split, aiding in an apiary by having backup queens.The list goes on. Basically, its a starter hive.
Logged

"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".
vabeeguy
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 30

Location: Fauquier County, Virginia


« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2007, 12:21:17 PM »

It's not a bad idea to have an empty nuc or hive around with frames and foundation. I was caught once with neither and sure enough I had a swarm in the back yard. I had to wire frames into a cardboard box and keep the bees in it until a got a hive. They didn't seem to mind to much, the queen started laying and today it's one of my strongest hives, but I won't be short handed on equipment again, that's for sure.
Logged
bozbee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24

Location: Dickenson Co Virginia


« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2007, 12:36:37 PM »

Thanks fellers, for the last 30minutes I've been checking out bee swarm capturing videos from "youtube". They give a lot of spin off videos for different aspects of the business. Good to see it on video other than just reaing.
Logged
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5423


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2007, 09:20:06 PM »

Bozbee,
Check these too if you want:
http://clinton.extension.psu.edu/Ag/Bees/bee_videos.htm
http://maarec.cas.psu.edu/
Logged
bozbee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24

Location: Dickenson Co Virginia


« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2007, 11:24:36 AM »

Thanks everyone! Buzzbee appreciate the link on the videos.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13563


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2007, 02:20:46 PM »

A nuc can be how you buy bees (usually four or five frames  with a queen) or it can be the box you put them in.  The box can be used for many things including splits, queen rearing etc.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesnucs.htm
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.238 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page June 26, 2014, 04:48:35 AM