Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 28, 2014, 08:02:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: WINTERING BEES..NEW  (Read 1031 times)
silkiechick
New Bee

« on: February 20, 2007, 01:24:58 PM »

I am quite new to beekeeping and must have done something terribly wrong.  I checked my bees this morning and found the entire hive had died.  Would they have frozen?  There was still honey in the hive and still some bees in combs that I left alone.  There didn't seem to be many bees in total.  I bought my hive from a gentleman last spring and they seemed to multiply most of the summer but it didn't seem there was much honey.  Could there just have not been enough bees to survive the winter?  There was activity last month when the temps got above 50, would they have left then?
« Last Edit: February 21, 2007, 12:02:55 PM by silkiechick » Logged
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee

Beekeep On!

« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 02:41:59 PM »

Did you do any type of treatment for varroa? Do you see dead varroa on the bottom board?

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

kathyp
Universal Bee

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 03:34:17 PM »

how far into the hive did you get?  maybe they are down deeper and you didn't see them?  i know i have opened mine and it looked empty from the top, but they were in there.