Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 25, 2014, 09:23:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: # of medium supers  (Read 1507 times)
wtiger
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179

Location: East Central Missouri


« on: January 26, 2007, 12:46:20 AM »

Hi all this spring I have 2 packages of bees coming and I already received most of my equipment.  I'm going with an all medium hive in an open brood configuration.  I got to thinking though.  Do I have enough medium hive bodies?  I only ordered enough for 5 max per hive and if the bees don't do much this year that'd be plenty, but shouldn't I have more on hand just in case there is a really good flow and one or both really take off?  If so how many would you recommend?
Logged
Jerrymac
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6047


Location: Wolfforth Texas


« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2007, 12:52:16 AM »

Where are you located?
Logged

rainbow sunflower  Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.   rainbow sunflower

 Jerry

My pictures.Type in password;  youview
     http://photobucket.com/albums/v225/Jerry-mac/
wtiger
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179

Location: East Central Missouri


« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2007, 12:56:36 AM »

east central missouri.
Logged
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2007, 01:37:40 AM »

It is enough for long time. When colonies occupy 4 mediums, get them more.

But don't feed hives so full of syrup that they cap syrup/honey large areas during feeding. Let them take their food from nature. It gives room for new brood and you get big hives.  Bees draw new combs when they need them. Don't force them build too much.
Logged
wtiger
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179

Location: East Central Missouri


« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2007, 01:54:26 AM »

Will do.  Thanks for the advise.
Logged
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5533


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2007, 06:44:23 AM »

Yoy may want to keep a nuc box handy in case one of your hives throws a swarm. It would be a shame to lose them if it happens and you have a chance at catching it. Wink
Logged
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2007, 07:53:44 AM »

Yoy may want to keep a nuc box handy in case one of your hives throws a swarm. It would be a shame to lose them if it happens and you have a chance at catching it. Wink

That happens to beginner often because they have not experinece when to get new room for bees. If bees hive small hive with honey swarm escape without warning.  When it seem that one box is occupyed, you may put second box lowest under brood box. So brood area is warm and colony can enlarge into lower box.

Otherwise it is quite impossible that small nucleus will swarm in same summer.
Logged
reinbeau
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2502


Location: Hanson, MA and Lebanon, ME


« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2007, 08:20:48 AM »

We run mediums here, three supers for them, the rest for honey (we hope!).  We started out with five total per hive, but had more them on site to build, when we needed them.  Right now there's 30 made up in my diningroom, awaiting paint - we're getting ready for three nukes we're putting at our home in Maine and two packages we're installing over at my mother's. 
Logged


- Ann, A Gardening Beek -  ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Click for Hanson, Massachusetts Forecast" border="0" height="150" width="256
wtiger
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179

Location: East Central Missouri


« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2007, 11:10:59 AM »

Yoy may want to keep a nuc box handy in case one of your hives throws a swarm. It would be a shame to lose them if it happens and you have a chance at catching it. Wink

Yeah I figured on that possibility.  Since they're fairly cheap I bought a couple nuc's and frames the same time I got the rest of the equipment.  Heck if one or both of the colonies do well enough I'll make an attempt to do a split in early fall.  Seening as how this will be my first year I'll be plenty happy if the simply live and make it through winter.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13978


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2007, 07:34:42 PM »

>It is enough for long time. When colonies occupy 4 mediums, get them more.

Exactly.

An extra bottom and an extra lid would be handy in case of swarms.  I like to have one box with the bottom attached for more ease of use with swarms.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.527 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page December 15, 2014, 08:03:29 PM