Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 25, 2014, 07:40:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I graft eggs! With 1 or 2 days! (rearing Queens)  (Read 1562 times)
Zippo
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8

Location: Santarém, Portugal


« on: January 25, 2007, 04:46:21 PM »

Hello, i am from Santarém, Portugal. I am trying to rearing queens, and so I have two hive with about 20 cells queen. In hive A I have graft 20 eggs (obviously with 1, 2 or 3 days). And in hive B I have graft some larvae with 4 days (right after egg). In every information about "rearing queens" I have read, almost all said that grafting could only be possible with larvae state (with 4 days) and not an egg!

Question:

Why can we graft an egg? 

Sorry 'bout my english Sad
Logged
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2007, 11:35:22 PM »

.
I have read about eggs. I think that they are guite easy to violate and there is no advantage to use them.
I think that eggs are easy to dry in open air when you move them.

When eggs hatch, bees feed larvae 3 days with queen milk.  So the the age is not criticall but  he time how much queen milk will stored in queen cells.

In practive you get good queens when you use as young larvae as you can.

It have been changed larvae after feed have filled queen cell with milk. But queens are not better after change operation.

To start with eggs, there are other methods for that and you need not to move them.

I have got big queens when I change larvae in swarming cells.

.

Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2007, 07:36:27 PM »

>Why can we graft an egg? 

I have a Jenter system where I can transfer the plugs anytime.  I have done eggs often when I had a few extra spaces on a bar and no larvae.  I've never seen the bees turn the egg into a queen.  They have only accepted the newly hatched larvae.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
NWIN Beekeeper
Professional Beekeeper
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 338


Location: Crown Point, Indiana (30mi SE of Chicago)


« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2007, 07:23:59 PM »

[Why can't we graft an egg? ]

Because you will break it in transit.

Can you raise a chicken from a broken egg? Nope.
Same is true of bee eggs.

Hope that clarifies why.

-Jeff
Logged

There is nothing new under the sun. Only your perspective changes to see it anew.
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2007, 09:07:48 PM »

But I can transfer an egg with the Jenter system and not damage it at all.  The problem is they still won't use it.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.241 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page October 08, 2014, 02:06:56 PM
anything