Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 28, 2014, 01:08:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Converting from deep to medium hives.  (Read 1376 times)
Jim H
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Location: Raymondville,Mo.


« on: January 01, 2007, 11:13:04 AM »

Hi, All.
I'm converting all my hives (deep broods also) to all medium boxes and am wondering what process I use to get this job done without loosing any brood or time. I think Michael or Finsky commented about this earlier in the year but I can't find the subject.

Thanks and Happy New Year!
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13989


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2007, 02:00:12 PM »

Mostly you need to keep in mind that pulling honey is a normal part of beekeeping.  Pulling brood is not.  So what you want to do is get the brood nest in the mediums so at harvest time you can pull the deeps.  If you put a medium frame in the center of the brood nest (when they can handle it which, in MO, I'm guessing will be about April) you can pull that frame of brood up to a medium box along with the queen above an excluder and soon you'll have a brood nest in the medium instead of the deep. You can just add medium boxes as usual on top until harvest time when you will take the deep off.  You might check to make sure they don't rear another queen in the deep.  Smiley  If so I'd move her up as well.

The "brute force" method is to do a cutout (cut the comb out of the deeps and tie the brood into medium frames).  But this isn't really necessary unless you are impatient.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2007, 04:07:16 PM »

I agree with MB, the easiest way to convert is to work the deep up the hive as medium supers are added.  The cutting down the deep suupers and frames to medium can be done during the winter while your building up or repairing your equipment.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
Jim H
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Location: Raymondville,Mo.


« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2007, 05:21:59 PM »

Thanks Michael,Brian for the quick response. I'll try the single medium frame first because I'm using Perco solid plastic frames and I don't think I can do a cut out.

I appreciate all of your help.

Happy New Year.


Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13989


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2007, 06:31:31 PM »

You could shake the bees off of the deep Pierco and run it through a table saw to cut it to 6 1/4" Smiley
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Jim H
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Location: Raymondville,Mo.


« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2007, 07:26:17 PM »

Great Idea! I don't know why I didn't think of that.
Thanks Michael!

 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.195 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page December 24, 2014, 01:53:45 PM