Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 20, 2014, 01:21:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Got my new queen this morning  (Read 810 times)
tom
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 377

Location: buffalo junction virginia


« on: July 07, 2006, 05:23:14 PM »

Hello

    Howdy all i got my new queen this morning and killed the old queen this morning about 10:00 and i put the new one in just a few minutes ago about 5 and i took a good look around at the brood and i see she was getting a little spotty so i think i made a good move now this is hive 3 so i made a boo boo and the cage with the queen fell on the floor i hope she is not hurt she seemed to be fine and when i laid her on the frames the bees in the hive came running to her. Sticking thier tounges in the cage and fanning and they went right to work on the candy eating it and she was calm and the bees could tell they had a queen back in the hive has anyone seen this before. The whole hive came to her they were not trying to kill her but feeding her and getting the scent.

Tom
Logged
NWIN Beekeeper
Professional Beekeeper
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 338


Location: Crown Point, Indiana (30mi SE of Chicago)


« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2006, 05:33:38 PM »

Tom,

Next time you replace a queen you might consider putting the old one in a cage until you have proof that she's laying.  If you add a few attendant bees she can live several days - long enough to prove a laying pattern.  This might save you some grief just in case the queen gets released, balled, and killed (at least you have an immediate back-up).

Jeff
Logged

There is nothing new under the sun. Only your perspective changes to see it anew.
tom
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 377

Location: buffalo junction virginia


« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2006, 08:21:47 PM »

Hello

     I never thought of that i use to do this when i had bees years ago and never lost a queen. But i will give this a try the next time i requeen and that will be in a few weeks.

Tom
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13622


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2006, 07:03:41 PM »

I usually put the old one on the frame of brood I found her, and a frame of honey in a two frame nuc.  I can dispose of her whenever.  I can always let it build up and put it in a five frame nuc and then make it queenless and let them rear a queen.  Meanwhile I have a spare.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2006, 03:56:48 AM »

I follow MB's method when I find it necessary to requeen.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.217 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 15, 2014, 01:16:57 AM
anything