Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 30, 2014, 06:07:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need some direction  (Read 1745 times)
pdmattox
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1118


Location: lake city, florida


WWW
« on: June 01, 2006, 01:45:48 AM »

This pic was taken this morning a 12:50 am est.  Temp was 71 F.  Supers are not full.





Logged

AdmiralD
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


Location: Oregon


« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 01:59:06 AM »

Consider opening the top of the hives and providing some ventilation for the bees....
Logged
amymcg
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 458


Location: Eastern Massachusetts


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2006, 07:29:29 AM »

I agree, you can use some small sticks or rocks under the cover on one end to prop them up.
Logged
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2006, 08:21:22 AM »

That is not mere ventilation question. Hives need more room.

You live in Florida and your summer is long.  2 box for colony is really small, where ever they are.

I suppose that there are near good pastures where hives have got good yield. Thay have brood and alltogehter combs are now full.

The biggest need 2 box on brood. Further more bees need 2 brood boxes.

You should look inside brood area do they have  yet queen cells.

Put empty box between those brood and honey boxes. Lift full frames from brood area to upper box.
.
Logged
TwT
Senior Forum
Global Moderator
Galactic Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3384


Location: Walker, La.

Ted


« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2006, 10:30:12 AM »

I agree, one deep is not enough room for brood, bet you have excluders on those hives also right, looks like you might? when I started my bee's everybody told me in the south  I should only use one deep for brood, I quickly found out this wasn't near enough room, all my half have 2 deeps or a deep and medium for brood, I would give them at least a medium more for brood and also adding ventilation will help anytime.... looks like you need both....
Logged

THAT's ME TO THE LEFT JUST 5 YEARS FROM NOW!!!!!!!!

Never be afraid to try something new.
Amateurs built the ark,
Professionals built the Titanic
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2006, 11:38:05 AM »

Quote from: TwT
I agree, one deep is not enough room for brood, bet you have excluders on those hives also right, looks like you might? when I started my bee's everybody told me in the south  I should only use one deep for brood,...


I use 3 boxes here in short summer. In winter I prefer 2 deeps.

If colony is 2 boxes, the stock must be something feral ?  In Finland we had 40 years ago hives  to which 2 boxes were enough.

My hives started to make brood  1,5 month ago. Now I should add the fourth box to most of hives.
Logged
pdmattox
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1118


Location: lake city, florida


WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2006, 05:09:25 PM »

yes there are queen excluders on.  Yes there were some hives that had a queen cell in them.  I purchased these hives at the beginning of May just
the way you see them except I added a super to a couple of hives.
The boxes are 8 frame and I bought 10 frame boxes to change them into.  So should I add another 10 frame deep body when i upgrade?
Logged

Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2006, 07:16:53 PM »

>The boxes are 8 frame and I bought 10 frame boxes to change them into.

And here I sit cutting all my ten frame equipment down to eight...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2006, 09:45:24 PM »

MB< some people just like to work hard.

Regardless of 8 or 10 frame, I use 8. There are 3 ways to fill a box, bees, brood, and honey.  If the box is jam packed with any one of the three they need more room.

I've said it before and I'll say it again--86 the supers, they may be why the bees aren't working the supers like they should bee.  Consider an excluder the same way you would a wrought iron gate--it's a barrier to cross.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2006, 07:01:49 AM »

>86 the supers

I believe you meant excluders...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2006, 02:52:37 PM »

Yes--86 the Excluders.  They are the least used item in my inventory and I only have a few for those rare occassions they might be needed such as retaining the queen on a hive with an absconding history.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2006, 03:10:01 PM »

In my experience to take 2 frame from 10 frame is too much. Bees make bur and combs are too fat.


When I extract too fat frames, they will be crushed. That is not advantage at all.
Logged
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2006, 03:59:41 PM »

Well said Finsky,

I have operated that a hive size was meant to have that many frames--no less and no more.  It is a practice that has kept me from experiencing many of the problems I've noted within these forums.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.235 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 13, 2014, 06:42:15 PM
anything