Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 02, 2014, 10:45:56 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 1 hive doing poorly...  (Read 6483 times)
Hi-Tech
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 415


Location: South Alabama (near Greenville)


WWW
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2006, 12:16:02 AM »

I went into the hive very early this morning so I could get an idea of how many bees were in that hive. There were more than I had thought. I still could not find a queen or eggs, only capped brood. There are still several swarm or superseder cells so I just decided to let them do their thing. I closed everything back up and will just watch and see what they do. If nothing else, it will be educational...
Logged

Beekeeping and hunting.... Is there anything else?
talkhunting.com
Finsky
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2791


Location: Finland


« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2006, 01:03:36 AM »

OK, don't wait any more. Join it to another hive or bye laying queen. It is not worth to wait own queens.
Logged
honeybeekeeper
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

Location: Georgia


« Reply #22 on: May 31, 2006, 12:07:00 PM »

I vote for the educational. You'll learn more by this than you would otherwise in a month of Sundays. However, use this one hive as the experiment, omit any test tubes. But take detailed notes and pictures that you can refer back to. However, remember this, this colony may not build up to full strength by fall. If say by September they are still low in number, consider combining at that time. And check your CMOS battery.
Logged
Hi-Tech
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 415


Location: South Alabama (near Greenville)


WWW
« Reply #23 on: May 31, 2006, 08:40:35 PM »

Hello Honeybeekeeper and welcome to Beemaster... Cheesy

I think I am going to just watch and learn....

By the way... CMOS batteries on old motherboards are the same battery I use in my crossbow red dot scope...  Too funny... huh?
Logged

Beekeeping and hunting.... Is there anything else?
talkhunting.com
latebee
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 314


Location: western new york, near buffalo and niagara falls 42 50' N latitude and 78 50' W longitude


« Reply #24 on: May 31, 2006, 11:03:35 PM »

I agree with Finsky-- combine the poor hive with another.Most times the cheapest losses are your first losses. You can try to requeen but from my experience the combo works much better. The newspaper method has always been a winner with me.
Logged

The person who walks in another's tracks leaves NO footprints.
Hi-Tech
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 415


Location: South Alabama (near Greenville)


WWW
« Reply #25 on: June 03, 2006, 11:23:35 PM »

update.....   lots of bees, some capped brood...no queen....no eggs..

OK..I should requeen or combine hives but i'm not going to. i put in a frame with new eggs from another hive to see what they will do. This is a learning year for me so I will see what I can learn....

I will keep everyone posted...

Anyone got any guesses as to what will happen?
Logged

Beekeeping and hunting.... Is there anything else?
talkhunting.com
qandle
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19

Location: Orem, UT


WWW
« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2006, 09:47:27 AM »

I'm going in on Monday to see if the new superseded queen in Hive 2 (from a package installed April 29) is laying yet. If she's not then I'm going to start thinking about combining 1 (which is doing great) and 2.

My question is when you combine you obviously go in to Hive 2, find the qeeen and destroy her, right?

If I do this, then in a few more weeks it will be time to add a super.

Quint
Logged
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #27 on: June 04, 2006, 09:50:50 AM »

If you don't get supercedure cells this time around (assuming there were eggs or very early larva) I would just combine it.  I mean: no eggs, no brood, and they're not trying to raise in new queen they need their heads examined.  It would be fruitless to continue on.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
Hi-Tech
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 415


Location: South Alabama (near Greenville)


WWW
« Reply #28 on: June 04, 2006, 10:01:08 AM »

He nods his head in anticipated glee. "We are creating life!" he screams over the thunder. "Igor, throw the switch and let's bring this new queen to life!" "Maybe she won't suck like the last two! bahahahahaha"
Logged

Beekeeping and hunting.... Is there anything else?
talkhunting.com
Hi-Tech
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 415


Location: South Alabama (near Greenville)


WWW
« Reply #29 on: June 06, 2006, 11:15:17 PM »

I broke down and combined the hives...All is well now...
Logged

Beekeeping and hunting.... Is there anything else?
talkhunting.com
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.128 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page October 01, 2014, 11:52:40 PM
anything