Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
November 28, 2014, 03:58:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: computer keeps losing time  (Read 1653 times)
FredBorn
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26

Location: Citrus County Florida


« on: April 28, 2006, 09:25:18 PM »

My computer keeps losing time.

Replaced battery.

Xp professional with zone alarm and agv free edition.

I've tried elimainating some of the programs loading at start up but ut doesbn't seem to help.

Any ideas

Thanks in advance.

Fred citrus county Florida 3 hives
Logged
beemaster
Site Founder
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6268


Location: Manchester, NJ

It is my pleasure to bring the forums to you.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2006, 10:01:25 PM »

I was hoping you said that only the clock/time in the forum was off (this does happen sometimes with the software - a bug they should fix some day) but if everything is going and you have a new battery - I'm stumped. Then again, I'm seriously NOT a techie guy, so no surprise there.

I had a friend who was having problems and I tried helping him over the phone - his computer just kept shutting OFF and HE thought it was only doing it at the monitor at first. Later we figured out his whole computer was going down and he ended up taking it to a tech - turned out his TRANSFORMER which ran the fans, etc., was dead and his processor was over heating.

It doesn't sound like that is your problem obviously, but it goes to show that sometimes the problem isn't where you are looking. I know someone here will have an idea or two - good luck!
Logged

NJBeemaster my YOUTUBE Video Collection
Follow us on TWITTER
SKYPE NJBeemaster - include your FORUM NAME in contact request
My Personal FACEBOOK Page


"All donations to our forums are greatly appreciated"
Please click HERE to help support our forum.
manowar422
Guest
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2006, 10:30:25 PM »

Fredborn,

Did you TEST the NEW battery???

Clean the battery contacts points (with the puter unplugged)
with a Q-tip soaked with a couple drops of 70% rubbing alcohol.
Let it dry for a couple of hours before plugging it back in and
re-booting so you don't short out the board.

Upon re-booting, set the time and date and shut it down overnight.
If the time reads correctly in the morning, problem solved.
If it's still acting up, have the BIOS chip checked for an update. Smiley
Logged
Understudy
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4640


Location: West Palm Beach, Fl


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2006, 09:17:49 PM »

Be careful you may have more than one battery also.
Make sure you are not overclocking the CPU. Overclocking is very rarely a problem, but I have seen it.

Check the bios for time issue. Check for bios updates from the manufacturer.

Make sure the power supply is a proper type for the mother board and not set for the wrong voltage.

As a worst case be prepared to check to see if any of you pci, agp, or isa cards have developed an issue. If none of those, your motherboard may be on the way out.

Sincerely,
Brendhan
Logged

The status is not quo. The world is a mess and I just need to rule it. Dr. Horrible
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.24 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page November 23, 2014, 02:51:50 AM
anything