Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 02, 2014, 05:11:24 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie question  (Read 334 times)
Ronman
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

Location: Stockbridge,GA


« on: April 02, 2014, 11:52:46 PM »

Hi all.
I've been beekeeping for a whole week now. I started 2 hives with NUCs. Italian bees.
I have a stupid question that I think I know the answer to. Is it a bad idea to leave the innercover on top of the Brood box, and stack a super on top of it? I figure the bees can access the frames, by coming up through the hole in the innercover. I ask, because I left one on by mistake, and went out today to put things in order, and found bees all over one of the frames above the innercover hole, and they were building comb like crazy.
Logged
Spear
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 223


Location: Germany


« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2014, 12:53:37 AM »

My bees love to build. They build comb onto the inner covers and stick them to the frames below. The inner covers I have don't have holes in them. I'm sure if they did the bees would go in between the inner cover and the telescoping outer cover and build that full of comb too. Most of my hives have even stuck the frames of the top box to the frames in the bottom box and fill that comb with drone brood! Very messy when inspecting and I tear apart the comb with the brood. So would be careful in your case to remove the inner cover as quickly as possible so they don't stick it to the frames with comb.
Good Luck!
Logged
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5440


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2014, 06:26:44 AM »

Short term it's okay. But if the upper box is your second brood box,you will want to move the two boxes together so they can expand the brood nest into the second box. At night the bees will congregate when it's cool and leave the upper box.Things will work more efficiently for the bees without the interruption in the middle.
Logged
Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1982

Location: Ovett, Ms


« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2014, 07:27:03 PM »

Welcome to the forum, Ronman.  The inner cover is on top of everything except the cover.  It would be helpful if you post where you are.  You may want to join a local bee club also.  Good luck to you and your bees.




Joe
Logged
Ronman
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

Location: Stockbridge,GA


« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2014, 09:09:48 PM »

Thanks for the replies, guys. I appreciate it! I am located in Stockbridge, Georgia. I'm just south of Atlanta, by about 20 miles.
Logged
drlonzo
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 77

Location: Fort Gay, West Virginia


« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2014, 11:06:04 PM »

Thanks for the replies, guys. I appreciate it! I am located in Stockbridge, Georgia. I'm just south of Atlanta, by about 20 miles.

Ronman - please visit your profile and change your location so that others may see your location each time you post.  There are lots of answers to questions and depending on where you are located the answers may change.

Welcome to the forum, Ronman
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 09, 2014, 10:04:54 AM