Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 23, 2014, 07:06:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting the first hive colonised by a closely located Pro keeper  (Read 508 times)
BumbbleBee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31

Location: Western Ghats, India


« on: February 24, 2014, 11:56:34 AM »

I have got a beehive for a subsidised price of Rs. 300 (~$5). An acquaintance of mine is a professional beekeeper by whom I'm getting my first hive colonised. We are thinking about setting up the hive by March 4-5.

But he lives (with his 15-20 hives) around 400 yards from the location where I would like to deploy my hive. He says he leaves his box (maybe brood box) at my place for a couple of days to let the bees 'set' themselves to their new home. Can't we use some things like a tree branch as a 'change mark' for the bees?

Do you find anything fishy in his procedure? He is already a bit infamous for tricking people in the bee business.
Logged
GSF
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1761

Location: Central AL (nw corner of Elmore County)


« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2014, 07:38:56 PM »

Is he your only choice? If you go ahead with it be sure to mark your hives and frames.
Logged

"Life is hard, It's even harder when you're stupid."

John Wayne
Bush_84
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 348

Location: Brainerd, MN


« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 07:56:43 PM »

The flying bees will most certainly go back.  Some try tricks, but I'm not so sure they work well.  Maybe somebody else can chime in, but I haven't had luck with that.  I'd find a place 3+ miles away for a few days then move them back to your home.
Logged

Keeping bees since 2011.

Also please excuse the typos.  My iPad autocorrect can be brutal.
vasukinv
Guest
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2014, 08:40:00 PM »

The flying bees will most certainly go back.  Some try tricks, but I'm not so sure they work well.  Maybe somebody else can chime in, but I haven't had luck with that.  I'd find a place 3+ miles away for a few days then move them back to your home.
I don't have such father place to temporarily move them. Do you think it's better to politely cancel the deal?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Logged
vasukinv
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 08:41:29 PM »

Is he your only choice? If you go ahead with it be sure to mark your hives and frames.

Yes, mate, I will. He is the only guy I know in this town who does the job.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Logged
Bush_84
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 348

Location: Brainerd, MN


« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2014, 09:49:42 PM »

I don't know that I'd avoid getting bees if he is truly your only option.  Maybe ask him if he has another apiary to move them to prior to purchase?
Logged

Keeping bees since 2011.

Also please excuse the typos.  My iPad autocorrect can be brutal.
BumbbleBee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31

Location: Western Ghats, India


« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2014, 01:50:35 AM »

To be on the safer side, and avoid any misunderstanding with that person, I'll cancel the deal politely. I'm thinking about catching a swarm.

Please help with my thread titled  Is it the right time to build and deploy a swarm trap? :
http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php/topic,43797.0.html

Link added (Buzzbee)


« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 07:11:39 AM by buzzbee » Logged
sc-bee
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1971


Location: Edgefield, SC


« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2014, 09:41:38 AM »

He says he leaves his box (maybe brood box) at my place for a couple of days to let the bees 'set' themselves to their new home.

Maybe I do not understand but as I read it you say he will move his brood box to your place along with your new bees to prevent the drifting. Your new bees will orient to the location in his yard were the old box (parent hive) was located. And the bees from his hive he plans to move to your yard as a helper will also orient back to his old yard. That is if I understand your move.

The question is how $ is this actually an investment for you personally. And you have already stated the fellow is less than desirable to do business with. Having or not having the bees or risking catching a swarm are the key. Weigh your options???
Logged

John 3:16
sc-bee
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1971


Location: Edgefield, SC


« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 09:45:07 AM »

Please help with my thread titled  Is it the right time to build and deploy a swarm trap? :
http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php/topic,43797.0.html




Depends on when your swarm season is.... but have it ready.
Logged

John 3:16
BumbbleBee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31

Location: Western Ghats, India


« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2014, 11:40:05 AM »

He says he leaves his box (maybe brood box) at my place for a couple of days to let the bees 'set' themselves to their new home.

Maybe I do not understand but as I read it you say he will move his brood box to your place along with your new bees to prevent the drifting. Your new bees will orient to the location in his yard were the old box (parent hive) was located. And the bees from his hive he plans to move to your yard as a helper will also orient back to his old yard. That is if I understand your move.

The question is how $ is this actually an investment for you personally. And you have already stated the fellow is less than desirable to do business with. Having or not having the bees or risking catching a swarm are the key. Weigh your options???

I went to his place today. He has many nuc boxes. He said he will leave one of those at my place for a couple of days, and once that nuc gets oriented to my location, he'll move them to my new hive.

Interestingly, he has guaranteed that the strength of the colony will not be dropped. If I see any decline in the strength within a week, he'll exchange it with a new colony. Deal sounds acceptable; doesn't it?

And regarding money, it's Rs. 650 for the colony (an equivalent of around $10.5). It's a solid figure for me.
Logged
Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1997

Location: Ovett, Ms


« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 02:20:58 PM »

I have moved a couple of hives 100 yards, put some limbs with leaves in front of hives, up against the hive.  Then removed the screen and they reoriented to new yard.  Yours may not, there is no guaranty.  Good luck to you





Joe
Logged
rwlaw
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 182

Location: Grand Rapids Michigan


« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2014, 08:33:55 AM »

If it's only the distance you speak of and your population drops, tell him that you want a couple "shakes" of bees from one of his hives, instead of going thru switching hives again. When you shake the frames from his hive in front of yours, the bees that go into your will be nurse bees and will not have oriented yet. Good way to boost hive population.
Logged

Can't ever say that bk'n ain't a learning experience!
BumbbleBee
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31

Location: Western Ghats, India


« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2014, 09:28:46 PM »

I have moved a couple of hives 100 yards, put some limbs with leaves in front of hives, up against the hive.  Then removed the screen and they reoriented to new yard.  Yours may not, there is no guaranty.  Good luck to you
Joe
Thank you.

If it's only the distance you speak of and your population drops, tell him that you want a couple "shakes" of bees from one of his hives, instead of going thru switching hives again. When you shake the frames from his hive in front of yours, the bees that go into your will be nurse bees and will not have oriented yet. Good way to boost hive population.
Brilliant. Sounds logical. I wonder if they don't fight with the native bees.
Logged
rwlaw
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 182

Location: Grand Rapids Michigan


« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2014, 11:10:51 PM »

Nurse bees have yet to acquire  the hive scent, the guard bees let them pass without too much squabbling. The older bees will fly back to their hive location, just make sure the queen isn't on the frames.
Logged

Can't ever say that bk'n ain't a learning experience!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.574 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page October 13, 2014, 08:55:12 PM