Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 17, 2014, 03:06:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Beginner  (Read 300 times)
willwaibel
New Bee

« on: October 27, 2013, 06:36:52 PM »

Hi.
I am a high school student from Bel Air, Maryland. I am totally new to beekeeping, but it seems interesting to me.
I work at a local Cub Scout camp and am considering some type of beekeeping setup near the Nature Lodge (of which I am the director).
I am 99% clueless on beekeeping, so if someone could kind of lay it out for me or direct me to a good thread, I would be most appreciative.
I am slightly concerned about safety; is there a docile variety of bee or methods to prevent passers-by from being stung?
I think it would be really cool to make some sort of bee-friendly garden near the hive so that the bees could be observed doing there thing.
Around the nature lodge, there are tons of plants I suspect would be good for bees including tons of tulip poplars and a small field of milkweed.
Thanks for any help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
merince
House Bee

« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 07:53:45 PM »

This is the perfect time to start learning. There is a lot to learn and a thread will barely scratch the surface. I suggest that you locate a beekeeping club close to you and sign up for their beginner class. Those classes should be starting right about now.

I think it is a great idea to set up some hives for people to observe. I have seen such a setup at the Greene County Beekeepers Association. Here is their website: http://www.gcbeekeepers.com/Pages/default.aspx.