Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
November 27, 2014, 07:15:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Capped queen cell  (Read 260 times)
gdog
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 109

Location: Milwaukee, WISCONSIN


« on: July 31, 2013, 09:50:07 AM »

I have a capped queen cell I placed into a queenless hive along with some brood/larva from another hive. Is a queen cell only capped if it contains a larva/queen bee? or could it be empty?
Logged
millipede
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 106

Location: Bossier City, La


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 10:08:32 AM »

If it is capped, it should have a queen in it.
Logged

WarPonyFarms
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: Kennewick, WA


« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 11:09:59 AM »

It had a queen in it when they capped it.  That doesn't mean she will emerge. 

If there is a problem with the cell, the bees will make a queen if the larva you provided is young enough.

good luck
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.145 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page November 23, 2014, 06:44:04 PM
anything