Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 17, 2014, 02:55:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: adding supers  (Read 401 times)
rober
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 585

Location: Arnold Missouri


« on: July 27, 2013, 10:27:13 AM »

if i have a nearly full super is it better to add a new one under the full one? i'm out of fully drawn out frames. the frames i have are partially drawn out or foundation only
Logged
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2013, 10:40:54 AM »

if i have a nearly full super is it better to add a new one under the full one?

that is right place

.
Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
Spinner
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Location: Somewhere in Indy


« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2013, 01:24:55 PM »

I always super on top.  Here's an extract from one bee association website, which is consistent with what most beeks do:

Supers are usually added on top of the previous super. This is the easiest way to put on supers as less lifting is required and you can easily check the existing super to see if another is required. Bottom supering involves lifting one or more nearly full supers off and adding the new super directly above the brood nest. It demands a lot more work, which is only warranted if supering has been delayed and combs in the top super have been completely capped over.

Logged
MTWIBadger
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 96

Location: Bitterroot Valley, Southwest Montana


« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2013, 08:29:01 PM »

I guess I must not do what "most beeks do" by placing a new honey super below the nearly full super. I place a new honey super right on top of the brood nest which helps prevent getting honey bound. For me it's that not difficult or that much work to lift up a full honey super. Especially in comparison to moving a whole hive which I do with the help of my son to maximize honey production.

Another option is removing individual capped frames of honey (and harvest them) and replacing them with empty frames. 
Logged
sawdstmakr
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3043


Location: Jacksonville FL


« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2013, 09:23:26 PM »

I prefer to add them on top, that way I do not have to take the hive to see when to add another super. That works really well with my screen top boards. I have tried adding them above and below and do not see much of a difference.
Jim
Logged
asprince
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1696

Location: Fort Valley, Georgia


« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2013, 09:39:16 PM »

I always put mine on top. Works ok for me and my mutts.


Steve
Logged

Politics is supposed to be the second oldest profession. I have come to realize that it bears a very close resembalance to the first. - Ronald Reagan
sterling
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 962

Location: mt juliet tn


« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2013, 12:40:54 PM »

I do it both ways and can't really tell any difference. If they need them they will fill them. If they don't they want. I will usually put a frame or two that they are working on in the new box and put the empty frames in the full box. May help may not.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.214 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page September 14, 2014, 08:57:45 PM