Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 27, 2014, 07:19:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Strange looking capping  (Read 833 times)
Farmrgirl
New Bee

Head MooseHerder

« on: July 16, 2013, 03:30:16 PM »

I installed a new nuc of Russians 2 weeks ago and this weekend I opened the hive up to take a look at how things were going.  Mostly everything looked great but I was looking at one frame that seemed strange, though I'm totally new to beekeeping so I wanted some experienced opinions.

Here's a picture of the frame... the cappings look thick and wavy, is that normal?

« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 04:01:16 PM by Robo » Logged

~Dana Kee {Mooseherder, Moose Manor Farms}

Southern Maryland Homesteading with clucks, ducks, & crops  www.moosemanorfarms.com
Bees In Miami
House Bee

« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 03:43:48 PM »

Hey farmgirl....Without seeing the pic, by any chance was it an end frame?  Could have been capped honey, as opposed to capped brood?

capped honey...
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.tassotapiaries.com/images/Honey-frame1.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.tassotapiaries.com/contact/contact.htm&h=460&w=764&sz=116&tbnid=qWcdAVGwNdDRBM:&tbnh=87&tbnw=144&zoom=1&usg=__nywI_dY3NDMq0VnG4dxneg3-IqU=&docid=hOf_1x3uf0IYnM&sa=X&ei=CKHlUbDIJs38qAGs4oHYCg&ved=0CDIQ9QEwAQ&dur=3130

Here is one with brood (center rainbow shaped) with capped honey at the top and top corners...