Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 03, 2014, 02:41:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Harvesting honey  (Read 412 times)
gdog
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 109

Location: Milwaukee, WISCONSIN


« on: July 08, 2013, 11:09:58 PM »

I harvested a medium super of honey today and I have three hives where the comb is full of honey but not yet capped. Can anyone tell me how long it will take for them to cap the honey?

Thanks.
Logged
Old Blue
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 133

Location: San Diego CA


« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 02:30:30 AM »

I can not tell you how long it will take to cap the honey.  I can only tell you that it will be longer than you would like it to be or longer than you think it will be  grin

Old Blue
Where my stupid bees seem to never cap honey, just to piss me off.  In................
Kali-bone-ya

Warning - 3 beer post
Logged
Better.to.Bee.than.not
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 487

Location: S-E Michigan


« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2013, 03:09:09 AM »

ya, no one will be able to tell you when they will cap it...the inspector bee wobbles around, sticks his butt and head into it, sees what sort of nose it has and how well it sticks and decides by his own professionalism..... seriously it depends on humidity, climate, how well they do the crazy things they do and other things.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13631


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2013, 09:46:22 AM »

>Can anyone tell me how long it will take for them to cap the honey?

No... no one can.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
sterling
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 944

Location: mt juliet tn


« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2013, 12:30:17 PM »

Take some of it out and put it in the hive that capped theirs and put the empties in there place. May be more bees in the hive that capped to work the nectar.
Logged
Better.to.Bee.than.not
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 487

Location: S-E Michigan


« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2013, 09:12:51 PM »

actually you 'can get a refractometerand check it's moisture content and see 'about' when they will start capping it I guess.
Logged
don2
Doak
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 353

Location: Hillsboro Georgia USA


« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2013, 09:16:52 PM »

if you are in a slack and they decide they need it elsewhere they may not cap it. they may put the "move" on it.  huh Wink Wink d2
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.18 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page Today at 02:37:29 AM