Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 29, 2014, 06:17:13 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Quick Question?  (Read 995 times)
Abydos
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5

Location: Coffs Harbour NSW Australia


« on: July 06, 2013, 08:53:46 AM »

When adding a second brood super which has new foundation do you put it on top or under the first one?

Thanks.

Stephen.

Logged
Lone
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1058


Location: North Queensland


« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 11:17:50 AM »

Quick question to reply

Why not a honey super?


Lone
Logged
mikecva
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 584


Location: Northern Virginia USA


« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2013, 11:51:24 AM »

Hello, is it not still clod there?

OK about your question: I always add to the top. I use all mediums so I have 3 brood boxes. When I used deeps (some 25+ years ago) I used 2 deeps for the brood. But alas, I am not as strong as I once was (nor as tall or thin, ect)  -Mike
Logged

.
.
Listen to others but make your own decisions. That way you own the results.
.
.
Mircea_63
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24

Location: Romania


« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2013, 03:16:42 PM »

When adding a second brood super which has new foundation do you put it on top or under the first one?

Thanks.

Stephen.



  May I answering with another question?

Where put the bees their honey? Or in what side -top or down- put the brood?
Let`s go and think (use your mind). First: always the bees put honey up and brood down. In a natural cave, the combs are built from up to down. Never have honey below brood.

 Conclusion: if you add a brood box, put under.
                  -if you add a honey box, put in on top.  




Logged
kanga
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 71

Location: Southeast Queensland, Australia


« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2013, 05:25:22 AM »

When adding a second brood super which has new foundation do you put it on top or under the first one?

Stephen

Your climate would be very similar to here and generally speaking the majority of beeks run with 1 brood box, the next box is a super,some use an excluder between their brood box and super.

I would not be looking at putting a full box of foundation on during winter.

Kevin
Logged
squidink
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 165


Location: Melbourne


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2013, 05:32:14 AM »

Lots of variables to this question!

If you are dealing with a single box hive and you want a 2 box hive to expand the brood it will go on top.

Ben
Logged

Abydos
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5

Location: Coffs Harbour NSW Australia


« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2013, 07:44:34 PM »

Thanks for the replies, I was looking at having 2 brood boxes and putting the second one on in spring.
I just wasn't sure if the new one went under or over.

Thanks again.

Stephen.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.234 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page August 28, 2014, 05:34:41 AM
anything