Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 19, 2014, 08:38:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dell bios problem????  (Read 1283 times)
Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1216

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« on: June 26, 2013, 04:48:05 PM »

Ok, one of the two Dell 780 3GHz computers (the one I'm using) that I got has a problem of sorts.  These computers are running Win7 Pro 64-bit.  The blue progress bar that is seen when the bios is booting up only fills in one segment of the bar length and then goes on to the Windows splash screen.  The other 780 completely fills out the bar before going on to the Windows splash screen.  Both take about the same time to get to windows.  I'm figuring on putting our small business on these two computers and I'm wondering about this discrepancy between the two computers.

The only problem that I've had has to do with a weather website that I put online... www.beeweather.com ...with the problem being on the page www.beeweather.com/gauges-ss.htm .  The gauges work ok but the LCD "tape" forecast at the top does not....both the tape and gauges use the same uploaded text file to operate.  The problem appears to be only with this computer with the short "progress bar" as the other computer has no problem with the forecast.  The computer that works ok has a version A04 (older) bios while the one I'm having a problem with has a newer bios...A14.  I'm wondering if this website issue could be associated with the truncated "progress bar"...if it might be a symptom.

A final question...can I replace the newer A14 bios with the older A04 bios?

Thanks,
Ed
Logged

Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1216

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2013, 06:29:17 PM »

Well, I got the progress bar working...for what it's worth.  It was the bios.   I flashed the bios with the (older) A04 firmware (system said the flash failed, but it did actually work).  The progress bar worked with A04 installed.  I then reflashed it back to A14....the progress bar again wasn't working right.  I ended up with the highest version I could get to and still have the progress bar working...that was version A10.  So, the progress bar is working.

The website issue is still there, though.  No great deal as the forecast on the webpage works on all the other computers that I have access to.  Odd that it won't work on this one, though.   huh

Ed
Logged

Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1216

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2013, 05:31:13 PM »

I got it all working...  Smiley

Ed
Logged

Better.to.Bee.than.not
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 309

Location: S-E Michigan


« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2013, 11:35:16 PM »

well glad everyone here could help you out. ha ha.
Logged
Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1216

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2013, 12:11:07 AM »

They've been great help before.  I just imagine they're all elbow-deep in bees about now or either slinging honey. Smiley

Ed
Logged

alfred
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 399


Location: Loveland Colorado USA


WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2013, 08:17:36 AM »

Was the Bios the problem? seems unlikely.
Alfred
Logged
Better.to.Bee.than.not
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 309

Location: S-E Michigan


« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2013, 01:47:49 AM »

heh, don't doubt, it. I was just being a smartass. glad you fixed the issue in any case. Wink
Logged
Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1216

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2013, 11:18:53 AM »

As mentioned earlier, the bios was the problem with the Dell boot-up progress bar.  The problem with the website took a lot of hard work, much indept research, a high degree of education, and great expertise....I had not set the time to the correct time zone.  laugh  Alls well now. Wink

Ed
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.17 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page April 16, 2014, 05:02:00 PM