Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 24, 2014, 08:34:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Oops, Caught a Swarm  (Read 789 times)
Beeboy01
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 126

Location: Port Orange FL

Oh Look A Honey Bee !!!


« on: May 23, 2013, 10:49:53 PM »

Split a hot hive last weekend with the plan to requeen using a frame of brood from a donar hive. The half of the hive which was moved didn't show a lot of activity but then got real active Monday. Thought that it was getting robbed out but the bees just were not acting like robbers, they were calm and weren't diving in and out of the split box and the bees weren't fighting on the landing board. Took a good look at the hive today, didn't open it up but just watched it for a good 1/4 hour and oops looks like I picked up a swarm, not planned, not needed but looks like the first swarm of the year.  grin  Don't know if the swarm came from my yard or not which is another mystery.
  I had the same thing happen two years ago while culling out old frames, left a box in the bee yard loaded up with old frames and had a swarm move in when I was taking a break. Gotta love it, you never know what will happen or when.
 
Logged
Beeboy01
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 126

Location: Port Orange FL

Oh Look A Honey Bee !!!


« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2013, 12:13:13 PM »

It wasn't a swarm, just some haphazard robbing going on. Opened the top to let the girls finish the job and clean up the frames.
Logged
Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1997

Location: Ovett, Ms


« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2013, 10:02:40 PM »

Better luck on it being a swarm next time Beeboy.    I caught a swarm first of the week, only super I had with any drawn comb was a shallow.  The swarm was pretty good size, wouldn't all fit in it.  Had to put a medium super on top with foundation so they could all get in.  First time I ever had to add a super to hive a swarm.



Joe
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.463 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page October 10, 2014, 02:47:45 PM
anything