Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 31, 2014, 10:35:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Addition of new medium box  (Read 853 times)
gdog
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 109

Location: Milwaukee, WISCONSIN


« on: May 19, 2013, 11:10:54 PM »

I'm going to add medium boxes to my hives. Where should I place them, at the bottom or the top? Is it personal preference?
Logged
don2
Doak
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351

Location: Hillsboro Georgia USA


« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2013, 11:25:50 PM »

Personal preference. Bottom suppering is ok if you can do, and don't mind the extra work out. Not for me. 71 years old and hurting, I can go with top with 5 and 8 frame supers deep and medium respectively  Smiley d2
Logged

Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1974

Location: Ovett, Ms


« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2013, 01:42:45 AM »

I start them off in one as it gets nearly full you add another on top of the last one.  You start with your brood supers, as many as you want, and then add the honey supers one at a time.

I still am using 2-10 frame deeps for brood and have been using 10 frame shallows for honey.  This year I have some medium 10 frame honey supers also.  Later on down the line they may become brood supers. 


Joe



Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2013, 09:31:21 AM »

I only see an advantage to Nadiring (adding empty boxes to the bottom) when you have foundationless frames and it's still cold at night.  Sometimes it prevents them from trying to build up from the bottom bars on the next box.

Otherwise, it's much more convenient when assessing if they need more boxes, if the last empty one was on top where you can monitor it without removing boxes...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2013, 08:16:20 PM »

I'm going to add medium boxes to my hives. Where should I place them, at the bottom or the top? Is it personal preference?

you are going.....

What you have now there?
How many frames are covered with bees
how many brood frames
how many food frames.

If you have one brood box, another brood box is better that super.

Second brood box  is good put down if you do not know when to do it.
When lower box is half full, then swap boxes.
After a week from that add third box above brood =medium.


Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.515 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 24, 2014, 08:52:26 PM
anything