Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 25, 2014, 05:36:15 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1st swarm ever! Cuckoo for Coaco puffs!  (Read 624 times)
rubeehaven2
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56

Location: NY


« on: May 07, 2013, 07:17:49 PM »

Well, put a swarm trap out the last week of April, and check it every day on my walk with the dogs, and low and behold bees in the entrance!  Put my ear up to the back of the box and heard the hum of a bunch of bees inside!  Don't know how big it is, but now I have to figure out where to put them!  I made a 6 frame nuc, put two frames of comb, and two frames with foundation, and (of course) queen pheromone scent.  I am quite excited!

I'm located in the Hudson Valley, and most folks I've talked to have said swarms aren't overly common unless you catch your own.  But, there they are!  And, my other hives have not swarmed. 

It's going to rain the next few days, so I have a bit of time to get the new hive ready!

What an awesome day!   grin

Have a great one all, Rich.
Logged
kathyp
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15201


Location: boring, oregon


« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2013, 07:30:50 PM »

congratulations.  that's the best way to do it! 
Logged

.....The greatest changes occur in their country without their cooperation. They are not even aware of precisely what has taken place. They suspect it; they have heard of the event by chance. More than that, they are unconcerned with the fortunes of their village, the safety of their streets, the fate of their church and its vestry. They think that such things have nothing to do with them, that they belong to a powerful stranger called “the government.” They enjoy these goods as tenants, without a sense of ownership, and never give a thought to how they might be improved.....

 Alexis de Tocqueville
Georgia Boy
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 500


Location: Winston, GA.


« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2013, 09:55:51 PM »

Congratulations that is truly awesome!  applause applause applause applause applause applause applause

I've had my swarm trap out but have nothing to show for it yet.

Ever hopeful,

David
Logged

"Give it All You've Got"
"Never give up. Never surrender."
Old Blue
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 133

Location: San Diego CA


« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2013, 10:02:53 PM »

Woooo Hoooo ! ! !
Thats the way to do it.  Congratulations.  The first one is always a blast.  Once you get the hang of shaking, sweeping and coaxing bees into boxes it gets even more fun.

Old Blue
In the land of cruel and unusual predatory taxation with no representation (except for the monied).  Where else but..............
Kali-bone-ya
Logged
iddee
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6135

Location: Randleman, NC


« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2013, 11:06:31 PM »

The last I heard, 2 + 2 does not equal 6. Get 2 more frames in there asap or you will have a mess that you do not want.
Logged

"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*
Better.to.Bee.than.not
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 497

Location: S-E Michigan


« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2013, 06:02:15 AM »

what happens if you do not have 6 frames, do they just expand to quickly, run out of room and leave?
Logged
rubeehaven2
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56

Location: NY


« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2013, 06:12:21 AM »

I had read to leave two spots open to create the sense of a larger space.  But, Adding two more is certainly on my priority list, along with going to the Hudson Valley Bee Supply! 

Thanks, Rich
Logged
iddee
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6135

Location: Randleman, NC


« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2013, 07:13:41 AM »

Bees will hang natural comb first, then use frames when all natural space is full.
Logged

"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*
Orlando
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60

Location: Hudson Valley,NY


« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2013, 06:48:13 AM »

Where in the Hudson Valley?
Logged
rubeehaven2
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56

Location: NY


« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2013, 10:06:39 PM »

In Lake Katrine.  Kingston area.   grin
Logged
Beefunkrailroad
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16

Location: Mount Washington, Kentucky


« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2013, 12:13:27 PM »

I found out the hard way that you need to fill up the box with frames.  They will build comb in the empty space for sure.
Good luck and congrats on the new hive!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.246 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page October 21, 2014, 06:15:45 AM