Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 24, 2014, 05:28:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Slightly different setup  (Read 1445 times)
Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1965

Location: Ovett, Ms


« on: May 21, 2013, 07:19:37 PM »

I have been thinking about changing my hive set up and thought I would run it by yuall to see what you think.  I know it probably wouldn't be for people with lots of hives.  I would make it similar to a TBH, in that it would have 30 frames long with Langstroth frames. The last 10 frames would be a honey super, and you could place other honey supers on top of that one as you do now.  It would make it easier to check on your brood chambers, not having to take the entire have apart to get there.
Make the BB and sides the length to accommodate the 30 frames and the tops to cover 10 frames.  You could make them to fit whatever size frame you would like.  An you could make the honey supers a different size with a little modification.   Well that about it.


Joe
Logged
bud1
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 735


Location: macon, Ms.


« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2013, 08:53:30 PM »

joe its called a long hive
Logged

to bee or not to bee
Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1965

Location: Ovett, Ms


« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2013, 09:28:43 PM »

Thanks Bud
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13563


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 10:09:26 PM »

Like this:
http://www.bushfarms.com/beeshorizontalhives.htm

Mine usually have 33 frames or so.  Four feet long seems to work well...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
don2
Doak
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351

Location: Hillsboro Georgia USA


« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2013, 10:30:00 PM »

Michael bush, do you use a follower board? How many filled frames of bees should I have before putting them in the long box? My mediums are only 15 and 16 frames long. Smiley d2
Logged

Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13563


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2013, 07:53:36 AM »

>Michael bush, do you use a follower board?

No.  It's a nice idea...

> How many filled frames of bees should I have before putting them in the long box?

If I were starting a package with no drawn comb I would put them in a five frame medium nuc, then move them to an eight frame box.  Then a ten frame box.  Then the long box.

> My mediums are only 15 and 16 frames long.

You would have to add supers.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
don2
Doak
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 351

Location: Hillsboro Georgia USA


« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2013, 05:15:28 PM »

My initial thought was for not having to go so high with my stack, thinking the queen will have enough room in that bottom. I have a deep that is 21 frames long. Smiley d2
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.135 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page June 29, 2014, 03:54:35 AM