Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 29, 2014, 10:49:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Brood chamber for 8 fr mediums?  (Read 653 times)
L Daxon
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 669


Location: Oklahoma City


« on: April 25, 2013, 10:47:13 PM »

For those of you who run all 8 frame medium equipment, how many brood boxes do you go with during the spring and flow?
How many boxes do you use to overwinter?
Logged

linda d
tillie
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1740


Location: Atlanta, GA

Bee in N Georgia on a Blackberry flower


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 12:08:39 AM »

I give them a new box every time they've built out and are using six of the eight frames.  I don't use a queen excluder so the queen builds brood in whatever boxes she would like.  In the spring build up, I often have brood in the bottom three boxes although they usually share the top box with a few honey frames on the sides. 

Remember that an 8 frame box is 20% smaller than a 10 frame so it makes sense that the brood would need three boxes. 

So I don't keep a rule in my head about how many boxes - instead, I just give them a new one every time they need it.

I typically overwinter in three medium boxes.  But I didn't harvest from all of my hives last year and didn't consolidate a few of them - so they wintered in four or five frame boxes - here in Atlanta we barely have winter now that global warming is so prevalent, so it doesn't really cause a problem.

Linda T in Atlanta
Logged

http://beekeeperlinda.blogspot.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"You never can tell with bees" - Winnie the Pooh


Click for Atlanta, Georgia Forecast" border="0" height="60" width="468
Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2013, 12:28:46 AM »

Howdy Linda.  I've been dedicating three 8-frame mediums to the bees.  I don't use queen excluders and the bees seem to be pretty good at building honey domes and containing the queen.  I figure whatever they want to store in those 3 mediums is good with me.  If I decide to feed syrup I do it with only three boxes on...the fourth box only goes on when the syrup has been removed...the fourth box on up is for me.   If I find brood above the third box, well, things happen. Smiley

Just my newbee take on it. Smiley

Ed
Logged

www.beeweather.com 
American blood spilled to protect the freedom and peace of people all over the world.  320,000 USA casualties in WWI, 1,076,000 USA casualties in WWII, 128,000 USA casualties in the Korean War, 211,000 casualties in the Vietnam "conflict", 57,000 USA casualties in "War on Terror".  Benghazi, Libya, 13 USA casualties. These figures don't include 70,000 MIA.  But, the leaders of one political party of the United States of America continue to make the statement..."What difference does it make?".

"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism."..."The press is our chief ideological weapon." - Nikita Khrushchev
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2013, 12:32:02 AM »

.
Good hive, when your re going to get honey

- 3 mediums for brood
- 6 for honey

- 2-3 for winter

if hives are not that good in main yield, I join them
Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
Jim 134
Super Bee
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 2227


Location: Hinsdale, New Hampshire 03451 USA


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2013, 04:50:17 AM »

  30 frames of mediums for wintering in New England so 4 boxes of you are using
8 frame boxes . As for honey I just give them a new one every time they need it.





              BEE HAPPY Jim 134 Smiley
Logged

"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13626


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2013, 09:34:42 AM »

>For those of you who run all 8 frame medium equipment, how many brood boxes do you go with during the spring and flow?

As many as they need.

>How many boxes do you use to overwinter?

As many as they need.  A small cluster might be in one box.  A medium sized cluster might be in three.  A really large cluster might be in five...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
L Daxon
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 669


Location: Oklahoma City


« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2013, 01:35:26 PM »

Thanks guys.  I was planning on using 4 boxes for brood chambers this spring but I have two booming hives: Hive #1 seems happy to keep brood mostly in 3 boxes and has put on nearly 2 supers of honey already in April (did find a golf ball sized patch of drone brood in the bottom of a frame or two of box 4).  Hive #2 is all spread out over 5 boxes and just swarmed, even though I had been checkerboarding for weeks, and really was thinking the #1 hive was busier and more heavily populated (and yes, I did catch the swarm and put it on split I made from #2 a couple weeks earlier).

I guess I will let each hive be different and just keep supering. 
Logged

linda d
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13626


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2013, 10:39:49 AM »

4 eight frame medium boxes = 3 ten frame medium boxe = 2 ten frame deep boxes...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
L Daxon
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 669


Location: Oklahoma City


« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2013, 10:59:48 PM »

Way back when I used to use deeps I always ran a 2 deep, 10 frame brood chamber so I guess with 8 frame mediums I should give them at least 4 boxes for brood.  Right now on my two biggest hives I have six boxes on each one, 4 for brood and 2 for honey.  They are sure putting on honey early this year.

And I did make a split off of one of these booming hives the first of April and it is already up to 3 boxes.  Will probably put on a 4th in a week or two.  My husband said I could only have 3 hives on our lot here in the city (but I did sneak a nuc in on him last week  grin.  Told him not to really think of it as a hive.  Just a place to park an extra queen.)
Logged

linda d
hankdog1
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 849


Location: Cedar Bluff, VA


« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2013, 06:00:55 AM »

If your only allowed to keep 3 hives you might want to look into running 2 queens so actually you can run 6 instead of 3.
Logged

Take me to the land of milk and honey!!!
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2013, 09:02:43 AM »

Way back when I used to use deeps I always ran a 2 deep, 10 frame brood chamber so I guess with 8 frame mediums I should give them at least 4 boxes for brood. 

this has nothing to do with mathematics.

You give more  room to bees if they need it. When it is honey flow, the hive  needs soon more room andit depends how often you extract.

The ability of queen to  lay rules finally what the hive will bee. Some hive has 4 boxes and some 8 boxes. You will see it.

.
Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
L Daxon
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 669


Location: Oklahoma City


« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2013, 11:37:07 AM »

Hankdog1,

Yes, I have thought about experimenting with double queen set ups but I am only 5'2" and 6, at most 7 boxes high is the most I can handle without getting on a ladder.  Last time on a ladder I misstepped and tore my meniscus in left knee.

What I usually do to keep populations high in prep for flow is just add any swarms I catch to existing hives so I have lots of girls to build out comb and gather nectar when the flow is on. Looks like I am going to have a bumper crop this year.
Logged

linda d
hankdog1
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 849


Location: Cedar Bluff, VA


« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2013, 03:38:37 PM »

Okay it was just a suggestion to double up.  Really though the key to keeping hives short is making sure you take supers off as soon as they get full though.  Most folks only harvest 1 to 2 times a year.  Sometimes that isn't an option for shorter people. 
Logged

Take me to the land of milk and honey!!!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.898 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page August 07, 2014, 07:12:29 PM