Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 28, 2014, 08:55:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need for nucs  (Read 890 times)
txbeegal
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 10

Location: Holland Texas


« on: April 01, 2013, 10:49:54 AM »

When doing splits, do you HAVE to have a nuc box, or can you start another hive in a regular brood box??  Really confused at this point.  Thanks
Logged

Life is too short not to be a beekeeper:)
BMAC
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 615

Location: Upstate NY Schoharie county


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 10:59:46 AM »

It doesn't matter if you use a full sized box or NUC box.  The purpose of NUC boxes is to sell the NUC.  I have made hundreds of splits into standard 10 frame deep brood boxes.
Logged

God Bless all the troops
Semper Fi Marines!
sawdstmakr
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3335


Location: Jacksonville FL


« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 11:18:15 AM »

TXB,
I do the walk away (split the brood chamber into 2 hives) into a 10 frame hive.
Jim
Logged

"If you don't read the newspaper you are uninformed.  If you do read the newspaper you are misinformed."--Mark Twain
Vance G
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1155

Location: Great Falls,Montana


« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2013, 11:25:05 AM »

I got some foil covered styrofoam and cut 14 3/4 by 9 1/2" followers and use one on each side to insulate and reduce the size of the area the bees have to climate control for brood rearing.  Expands as you need it to.
Logged
hardwood
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3482


Location: Osteen, Fl (just south of Daytona)

Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude


« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2013, 12:28:10 PM »

splitting into nucs (or using followers) does seem to help them build up faster. The main reasons I use nucs are that they are lighter and I can fit more on the truck. When we do splits we might make several hundred of them at a time and move them to mating yards.

Scott
Logged

"In the first place, we should insist that if the immigrant who comes here in good faith becomes an American and assimilates himself to us, he shall be treated on an exact equality with everyone else, for it is an outrage to discriminate against any such man because of creed, or birthplace, or origin. But this is predicated upon the person's becoming in every facet an American, and nothing but an American...There can be no divided allegiance here. Any man who says he is an American, but something else also, isn't an American at all. We have room for but one flag, the American flag...We have room for but one language here, and that is the English language...And we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a loyalty to the American people."

Theodore Roosevelt 1907
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8186

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2013, 08:48:52 PM »

And nucs are cheaper to build than full size hives.    grin
Logged
bailey
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 874


Location: RACELAND LA


« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2013, 09:33:27 PM »

They are fun sized hives. Easy to monitor and easy to work.
Bailey
Logged

most often i find my greatest source of stress to be OPS  ( other peoples stupidity )

It is better to keep ones mouth shut and be thought of as a fool than to open ones mouth and in so doing remove all doubt.
schawee
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 975


Location: PAULINA,LOUISIANA


« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2013, 10:59:56 PM »

split 4 hives late this evening and put them in a nuc. like scott said ease to handle......schawee
Logged

BEEKEEPER OF THE SWAMP
sc-bee
Super Bee
*****
Online Online

Posts: 1990


Location: Edgefield, SC


« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2013, 12:13:01 AM »

Also spliting to a NUC may help SHB problems if you have them. Easier for the bees to defend less space.
Logged

John 3:16
txbeegal
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 10

Location: Holland Texas


« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2013, 03:04:36 PM »

I suppose that you have to wait for queen cells to do splits??  Or order another queen???  Dang, I have lots of questions.
Logged

Life is too short not to be a beekeeper:)
Steel Tiger
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 535

Location: Southern New Hampshire


« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2013, 03:42:35 PM »

You can put a frame of eggs and larva in along with a frame of honey and pollen and a lot of workers bees. They'll get to work pretty quick on raising a new queen.
Logged
10framer
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1581

Location: Butler,GA


« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2013, 07:21:45 PM »

Also spliting to a NUC may help SHB problems if you have them. Easier for the bees to defend less space.

^^^^^ +1
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.648 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page December 26, 2014, 04:08:42 AM
anything