Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 01, 2014, 10:51:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 8 frame medium as a nuc...question  (Read 929 times)
Intheswamp
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430

Location: South Central Alabama - Zone 8A


WWW
« on: March 18, 2013, 11:36:28 PM »

I'm using all 8 frame medium boxes and I'm wondering about making a couple of nucs.  To make a nuc with medium frames how many medium brood frames should I use?  I'm thinking of two empty frames on the outsides, two honey/pollen frames inside of those, and then four frames of brood and brood+resources.  Sound about right?

Ed
Logged

www.beeweather.com 
American blood spilled to protect the freedom and peace of people all over the world.  320,000 USA casualties in WWI, 1,076,000 USA casualties in WWII, 128,000 USA casualties in the Korean War, 211,000 casualties in the Vietnam "conflict", 57,000 USA casualties in "War on Terror".  Benghazi, Libya, 13 USA casualties. These figures don't include 70,000 MIA.  But, the leaders of one political party of the United States of America continue to make the statement..."What difference does it make?".

"We can't expect the American People to jump from Capitalism to Communism, but we can assist their elected leaders in giving them small doses of Socialism, until they awaken one day to find that they have Communism."..."The press is our chief ideological weapon." - Nikita Khrushchev
bailey
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 874


Location: RACELAND LA


« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 11:44:15 PM »

A lot more than I would use.

If I had to use an 8 frame nuc I would still only pull 3 frames from a hive.
The extra space can be dealt with by using division boards. Or follower boards.  It will help with their ability to control the hive beetles.

I know a lot of people that make 2 and one frame nucs and let them build from there but I like at least 2
 3 is better.

This way the parent hive still gets to make honey. Pulling 3 frames is swarm controller to me.  The hive replaces that in no time.
Bailey
Logged

most often i find my greatest source of stress to be OPS  ( other peoples stupidity )

It is better to keep ones mouth shut and be thought of as a fool than to open ones mouth and in so doing remove all doubt.
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13626


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 08:51:51 AM »

It depends on your goal.  You can keep a nuc just to keep a spare queen around, which can be done with one frame of brood and one frame of honey.  Or you can make a nuc with the expectation that it will grow up to a full size hive and make it through the winter or even make a honey crop.  If I want it to "grow up" I would make a strong split with 16 medium frames full of bees and honey and 16 more empty ones for it to grow.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beessplits.htm
http://www.bushfarms.com/beesnucs.htm
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
10framer
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1504

Location: Butler,GA


« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 09:02:01 AM »

swamp that sounds more like a split.  if you're going for expansion that plus a super of foundation sounds like a good start then add more as needed.  things should be picking up down your way.  i would think clover would be in right now.
Logged
Jim 134
Super Bee
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 2237


Location: Hinsdale, New Hampshire 03451 USA


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2013, 04:18:47 PM »

I'm using all 8 frame medium boxes and I'm wondering about making a couple of nucs.  To make a nuc with medium frames how many medium brood frames should I use?  I'm thinking of two empty frames on the outsides, two honey/pollen frames inside of those, and then four frames of brood and brood+resources.  Sound about right?

Ed

The 8 frame medium boxes make a nice nuc as they are the same volume as a 5 frame deep.



                   BEE HAPPY Jim 134 Smiley
Logged

"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.244 seconds with 23 queries.

Google visited last this page August 29, 2014, 05:22:32 AM
anything