Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 30, 2014, 01:11:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Buckfast Update  (Read 343 times)
Steel Tiger
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 534

Location: Southern New Hampshire


« on: May 29, 2014, 02:53:59 PM »

 I checked the hive a few days ago and the frame with eggs that I put in was empty. I added a frame of mostly capped brood that also had brood of different stages, along with the nurse bees that were on it.
Today I went in to see if any queen cells were being build. I decided to check for wonky comb in the super first and I pulled out a frame of brood. I flipped the frame and there was the queen. She decided to move to the top medium and live there. I checked the next medium and it was packed with honey. I went ahead and swapped them out so she was sitting directly on top on the deep.
 Hopefully she'll move down soon. If not, I'll invest in a couple of excluders to get her laying in the deep.
 All in all, it was a nice surprise to see her.
Logged
biggraham610
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 219

Location: Cumberland Va.


« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2014, 06:01:37 PM »

shoot us a picture of her next time..........
Logged

"The Bees are the Beekeepers"
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5448


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2014, 08:26:27 PM »

Bees will move down as the top fills. Thats one reason why I don't give them an extra box on a new install,I let them build up the brood box first,then add the next box.
Logged
capt44
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 507


Location: Central Arkansas


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2014, 09:37:49 PM »

I do the same, let them fill out the brood box before adding another box.
Logged

Richard Vardaman (capt44)
Steel Tiger
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 534

Location: Southern New Hampshire


« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2014, 08:34:02 PM »

I do the same, let them fill out the brood box before adding another box.
All the boxes were full of capped honey and no place to store them. I figured the bees would get off to a great start with having so much in reserve.

 The frame of brood I put in was more than 50% capped. The hive should have a nice population boom in a week or so. Not long after that, the brood that the queen laid should be emerging. I'll check it in two weeks to see if the queen went down into the deep or moved up to the top.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.659 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page September 17, 2014, 04:50:36 PM
anything