Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 21, 2014, 12:22:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Queen Grafting - OK, what am I doing wrong???  (Read 3711 times)
malachii
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Location: West Gippsland


WWW
« on: September 28, 2012, 08:23:46 AM »

OK - I've grafted 3 times now and the bees clean and empty all my grafted cells by the 48 hour check.  The cell producing hive has been left queenless for 24 hours, the bar of cells have been in the hive for a couple of days prior to grafting so the bees can clean them, I'm fairly sure the larvae I'm using is young enough (although I'm going to isolate the queen with new comb next time so I can exactly date the larvae at 3 days), I'm as careful as I can be "scooping" the larvae out of the cells (is it possible I'm being to rough?).  Surely even if I am doing most things wrong I should still get 1 or 2 take out of the 48 cells that I am grafting.  I am getting absolutely nothing but cleaned out cells?  Any suggestions as too what I'm doing wrong or what I can check for?  Is it possible it is too early in the season?

malachii
Logged
BjornBee
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3773


Location: Lewisberry, PA


« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2012, 05:50:23 AM »

  Is it possible it is too early in the season?

malachii

I'd say your too late.......   Wink
Logged

www.bjornapiaries.com
www.pennapic.org
Please Support "National Honey Bee Day"
Northern States Queen Breeders Assoc.  www.nsqba.com
bernsad
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 462

Location: NE. Melbourne, Australia


« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2012, 06:00:13 AM »

Only problem is, it's Spring here Downunder.
Logged
malachii
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Location: West Gippsland


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2012, 07:04:51 AM »

Yeah - maybe I should have said I'm in Australia.  It's pretty cool here still (days are 15-20 degrees C nights are quite often down to single numbers).

malachii
Logged
Jim 134
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2223


Location: Hinsdale, New Hampshire 03451 USA


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2012, 09:12:50 AM »

First of all you have drone bees Huh



              BEE HAPPY Jim 134 Smiley
Logged

"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/
malachii
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Location: West Gippsland


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2012, 08:38:29 AM »

First of all you have drone bees Huh



              BEE HAPPY Jim 134 Smiley

G'day Jim 134,

Not sure what you mean by this?Huh  How does this affect the grafting of Queen cells?

malachii
Logged
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5433


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2012, 09:16:03 AM »

If you do not have drones flying yet,grafting queens is pointless as they will not get mated. Bees may choose not to raise queens if conditions are not right. No flow ,cold temps are conditions that bees do not want drones or raising queens.
Logged
Jim 134
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2223


Location: Hinsdale, New Hampshire 03451 USA


WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2012, 01:44:48 PM »

If you do not have drones flying yet,grafting queens is pointless as they will not get mated. Bees may choose not to raise queens if conditions are not right. No flow ,cold temps are conditions that bees do not want drones or raising queens.

DITTO.....

thax Ken

IMHO just a waste of resources for the bees and you if you do not have flying drones.

 

   BEE HAPPY Jim 134 Smiley
« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 02:07:33 PM by Jim 134 » Logged

"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/
REDBEE
Heavenly Beekeeper
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 110

Location: Texas


« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2012, 07:09:13 PM »

are you putting the queen cups upside down in the hive after you grafted ??
Logged
BjornBee
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3773


Location: Lewisberry, PA


« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2012, 09:55:31 PM »

are you putting the queen cups upside down in the hive after you grafted ??


Of course they are up side down......he is in Australia.  grin

Perhaps it would be best to post this in the dedicated forum for down under beekeepers. That way, advice would be coming from beekeepers that are in sync with what you are doing at this time of the year, instead of getting advice from beekeepers 6 months out of sync from your management. This was noted as one of the reasons the whole dedicated down under forum was started to begin with.

They would also know the environment, and timing, and possible problems that might be happening at this time.

The forum can be found here: http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php/board,157.0.html
Logged

www.bjornapiaries.com
www.pennapic.org
Please Support "National Honey Bee Day"
Northern States Queen Breeders Assoc.  www.nsqba.com
malachii
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Location: West Gippsland


WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2012, 07:42:50 AM »

If you do not have drones flying yet,grafting queens is pointless as they will not get mated. Bees may choose not to raise queens if conditions are not right. No flow ,cold temps are conditions that bees do not want drones or raising queens.

Yes - we have flying drones.  Have had a couple of swarms as well so they are around.  Still not sure how this would stop them from building the grafts into Queen cells though.  I've seen queen cells in hives in the middle of winter here.

Didn't post it in the Downunder section because I thought it might be a more generic problem rather than a region specific.  Oh well - maybe I'll try over there - thanks anyway Smiley

malachii
Logged
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5433


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2012, 09:13:23 PM »

Isolating the queen to date the eggs is a good idea. And yes you can be too rough with the larvae.
Logged
Jim 134
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2223


Location: Hinsdale, New Hampshire 03451 USA


WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2012, 07:39:04 AM »

malachii......
    This may help you  rolleyes

http://youtu.be/qIYz65Vquxg




     BEE HAPPY Jim Smiley
Logged

"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/
capt44
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 491


Location: Central Arkansas


WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2013, 11:56:23 PM »

I use a Timing Box to know how old the eggs and larva are.
I take a 10 frame box and put in 2 partitions made with queen excluders 7 1/2 high.
The center partition has the queen and the nurse bees and workers can go from one area to the other.
Each outer section has an entrance for the foragers to come and go.
The Center section has no outlet But the workers can care for the queen.
I check the center section and when I see eggs I move the frame to the outside area.
I know then I have 1 day old egg and I can come back on day 3 and should have larva.
I know the larva has just hatched and is in it's prime for grafting.
You can move the frames the queen has laid eggs in to the outer sections and know exactly the age of the larva.
You can literally raise thousand of grafting age larva in one Timing Box.
Logged

Richard Vardaman (capt44)
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.395 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 09, 2014, 02:30:56 AM
anything