Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 20, 2014, 02:20:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Taking brood and nurse bees?  (Read 574 times)
dprater
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 134

Location: South Carolina


« on: September 01, 2012, 05:16:40 AM »

I have a small hive from a swarm I caught a little over a week ago. With advice from (Kathyp) to add some brood and nurse bees it's doing good. Thanks (Kathyp)
I have another hive thats just about to bust. Can I just take maybe two more frames of caped brood and the bees that are on that frame and put it in the small hive or would I upset the balance of young bees and workers? I live in South Carolina so would the brood I have now be my winter bees?

Thanks
Logged
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5221


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 09:20:04 AM »

Adding more bees and brood will help boost the population before winter. Go for it.
Any foragers on those frames will return to the old hive leaving behind the nurse and house bees. Just don't overtax the donor hive.
If there is a dearth,be sure to have adequate feed for the new hive so the queen keeps laying. It would be counterproductive adding brood while a queen is layed back on laying because of a dearth.
Logged
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2012, 12:33:39 PM »

.
To add nurser bees is a bad idea. Probably they attack on the queen and kill it.

Best way is to add one frame of emerging bees. And next week again a new frame.

To add more is a risk, because small hive cannot keep all brood warm and much brood may die in peripheria.

It cannot be what ever capped brood because it takes time when bees emerge.
Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.114 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page April 09, 2014, 11:22:26 PM
anything