Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 20, 2014, 03:28:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Use of CheckMite + to Kill SHB  (Read 2067 times)
jataylor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 56

Location: Burke, VA


« on: August 29, 2012, 08:44:37 AM »

Instructions say to staple two pieces on the underside of a stripped piece of cardboard and place that on the bottom board.  I'm running screen bottom boards, so don't see where SHB would be running around on the screen bottom.  Will this work on the inner cover?
Logged
Richard
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 40


Location: Concord, GA


« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 01:29:16 PM »

I'm using beetle barns with a small piece of CheckMite+ inside.  I place the barns on top of the frames and on opposite sides of the brood box.  They seem to be doing a decent job.  I don't think I have a huge problem with the SHB but generally end up with around twenty to thirty total in the barns after a couple weeks.  Most are dead when I open it up, sometimes not.  Longer than a couple weeks and bees will have sealed up the entrance holes. 

Richard
Logged
jataylor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 56

Location: Burke, VA


« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 01:50:55 PM »

Hmm.  Interested to know what a "beetle barn" is.  Picture, description.  Thanks.
Logged
Richard
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 40


Location: Concord, GA


« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 02:05:11 PM »

I bought some from Rossman.
http://www.gabees.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=41_70&products_id=370

Heres  a YouTube video.  Im not sure what hes using to bait the traps in the video.
BEEKEEPING,Bees,SMALL HIVE BEETLES,Beetle trap filling,install Beekeepers Honeybees Beehives Georgia


Richard
Logged
jataylor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 56

Location: Burke, VA


« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2012, 04:17:52 PM »

Thanks.  Will let you know how they do.
Logged
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8072

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2012, 07:34:00 PM »

I would think you could use it on the inner cover.   You have pulled honey supers, right?
Logged
Richard
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 40


Location: Concord, GA


« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2012, 08:16:18 PM »

According to the directions, honey supers should be removed.  Being my first year, I dont have any honey supers on.  Id like to find a good alternative for next year.

-R
Logged
jataylor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 56

Location: Burke, VA


« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2012, 08:10:17 AM »

Same here.  No honey supers.  I do have three brood chambers.  This queen has really been busy and her girls have put away a good supply of honey for the winter!  Am hopeful they will have plenty for the tough winter we are expecting. 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.226 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page April 17, 2014, 03:43:33 AM