Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 21, 2014, 10:25:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: frame placement for split  (Read 397 times)
pembroke
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 97

Location: central KY


« on: August 04, 2012, 04:14:48 PM »

what would be the proper frame placement for a split/5frame nuc? Thanks. Pembroke
Logged
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8115

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 04:49:40 PM »

In the hive body.   That is the only right answer.   Some say x then y then x.  I don't like separating brood frames.  Keep them together IMO. 
Logged
hardwood
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3482


Location: Osteen, Fl (just south of Daytona)

Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude


« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2012, 04:53:21 PM »

I make mine:

1 honey
2 brood
3 brood
4 pollen
5 empty

Scott
Logged

"In the first place, we should insist that if the immigrant who comes here in good faith becomes an American and assimilates himself to us, he shall be treated on an exact equality with everyone else, for it is an outrage to discriminate against any such man because of creed, or birthplace, or origin. But this is predicated upon the person's becoming in every facet an American, and nothing but an American...There can be no divided allegiance here. Any man who says he is an American, but something else also, isn't an American at all. We have room for but one flag, the American flag...We have room for but one language here, and that is the English language...And we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a loyalty to the American people."

Theodore Roosevelt 1907
BlueBee
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4167

Location: Mid Michigan


« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2012, 03:28:08 AM »

I make mine like Scott, but I usually don’t find a frame packed with pollen so I compromise and stick something in there which has a least some amount of pollen.  My bees tend to re-arrange their frames a bit to their own liking, but if you start with Scott’s config they don’t have to do a whole lot of re-arranging.   I also end up mixing frames of brood from different hives some times. 
Logged
sawdstmakr
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2828


Location: Jacksonville FL


« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2012, 07:08:07 AM »

I just take 1/2 of the frames, 12345 or 678910. Usually they have everything you need. Then I add 5 foundation frames to both boxes.
Jim
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.209 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page July 17, 2014, 02:53:03 PM
anything