Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 31, 2014, 03:17:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Introducing a new queen  (Read 394 times)
Dange
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 65

Location: Grant, mi


« on: July 23, 2012, 06:15:11 PM »

I have Italian bees right now.  I want a new queen because the current one isn't laying well.  My question is could I introduce a new breed once I get my current queen out of the hive?
Logged
yockey5
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 677


Location: Hudson, Indiana


« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 06:46:38 PM »

Yes you can.
I have done it many times, just make sure the colony is queenless a minimum of 12 hours before you try to put the new queen in. I always rub the old queen out on top of the brood frames and leave her there.
This way they know she has expired straight away.
Logged
Dange
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 65

Location: Grant, mi


« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 09:02:45 PM »

I'm thinking of sunkist cordovan from russel apiaries
Logged
yockey5
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 677


Location: Hudson, Indiana


« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2012, 09:15:58 PM »

I have heard good reports on the sunkist queens, but I have yet to try them.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.241 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 28, 2014, 07:40:57 PM