Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 21, 2014, 01:04:50 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 questions  (Read 853 times)
rober
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 572

Location: Arnold Missouri


« on: July 03, 2012, 11:21:53 AM »

1- went thru the queenless hive. this hive has been without brood for 2-3 weeks. there were 2 queen cells that were open but had white stuff at the bottom. there was also sporadic brood that looked to be drone brood. without eggs i did not think they could make a queen but i could have missed the eggs. i also put a weak queen in the hive but she died in the cage. could the sporadic brood mean i have laying workers? can a hive go to laying workers in 2-3 weeks?
2-found 2 cocoons laterally across the comb & a larva about the size of a queen. ( see photo ). does the cocoon look like a wax moth?

« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 10:47:59 AM by rober » Logged
David McLeod
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 701


Location: Hampton

Georgia's Full Service Wildlife Solution


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 11:45:52 AM »

Laying workers

Wax moth

Hive is terminal.

Btw, the cage queen didnt just die she was rejected and killed.
Logged

Georgia Wildlife Services,Inc
Georgia's Full Service Wildlife Solution
Atlanta (678) 572-8269 Macon (478) 227-4497
www.atlantawildliferemoval.net
georgiawildlifeservices@gmail.com
rober
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 572

Location: Arnold Missouri


« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 11:53:12 AM »

so what do i do with it? shke out the bees & & store the hives bodies & frames?
Logged
danno
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2240


Location: Ludington, Michigan


« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2012, 02:27:20 PM »

shake out the bee's and freeze the frames for a couple of days the store
Logged
rober
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 572

Location: Arnold Missouri


« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2012, 08:09:52 PM »

i have 2 hives that are ready for a 2nd brood box. if i shake off the bees can i use these frames or would that encourage more laying workers in the new hive?
Logged
Vance G
Queen Bee
****
Online Online

Posts: 1098

Location: Great Falls,Montana


« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2012, 09:59:55 PM »

Just stack the bees and boxes on the hives ready for boxes.  The good colony will clean up the mess and the geriatrics you have int he washout will probably turn into field bees.
Logged
rober
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 572

Location: Arnold Missouri


« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2012, 12:29:19 PM »

i shook most of the bees of of the frames in front of the new hives & put those frames in the new hives. i put the empty bottom ( with bees ) board on top of the new hive. hopefully most of them will join the other hives. there were still a lot of bees in that colony. so now i'm at 9 colonies. i cannot believe how calm these bees stayed throughouy the change process. since i was going to shake them off of the frames i did not bother to smoke them.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.216 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 26, 2014, 05:27:41 PM