Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 22, 2014, 03:05:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding Supers to the Bottom  (Read 803 times)
winginit
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 262


Location: Batavia, Ohio


« on: June 10, 2012, 08:33:44 PM »

Thinking I may have missed something here. When one hive seemed to be honey bound, I added medium supers to the bottoms of two hives--what's good for one is good for the other--but neither hive has really done much with it. The honey bound hive (one large and one medium box) has drawn out some comb on the bottom medium super, but no larvae or honey (while the top box has been full for 3-4 weeks).

The second hive is three mediums--an empty bottom box, middle box full of larvae, top box filled with honey and no larvae. The top two boxes were almost full the last time I looked (3 weeks ago). I'm thinking about moving the empty super to the middle.

What am I missing?
Logged
iddee
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6128

Location: Randleman, NC


« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2012, 09:02:52 PM »

They will always store honey from the top down. They have enough empty space above the empty to store what is coming in and not eaten immediately, if there is any excess coming in. They will move down only when the uppers are TOTALLY full.
Logged

"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2012, 08:29:52 AM »

I added medium supers to the bottoms of two hives--
What am I missing?

You are missing one way....

It seem that you have good flow, and bees need room for honey, wet nectar, pollen and brood.

One way is that
- collect all honey and nectar frame up and
- and move brood frames down.
- Then add empty combs or foundations to boath boxes.


Often I do so that I add one super up and another down at ame time.

If you have pollen frames, the order is - brood- pollen - empty- wall
Don't brake brood area with empty frames in a small hive. 4-box hive stands braking.

.


Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
Joe D
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1997

Location: Ovett, Ms


« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2012, 09:29:11 AM »

I would just add the honey supers to the top of the hives.  Good luck with your bees.




Joe
Logged
sterling
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 991

Location: mt juliet tn


« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2012, 01:40:19 PM »

I would just add the honey supers to the top of the hives.  Good luck with your bees.




Joe
And put an already drawn frame in it from the other box.
Logged
Finski
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3928

Location: Finland


« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2012, 01:48:18 PM »

.
90% out of beekeepers cannot do nothing else that cast a box over the hive. That needs not much skills.
Logged

.
Language barrier NOT included
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.283 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page October 21, 2014, 02:57:22 AM