Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 24, 2014, 04:12:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: adding a queen to a hive  (Read 1599 times)
syphon1
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13

Location: Central Alberta, Canada


« on: May 14, 2012, 12:55:55 AM »

If you had a hive whose queen was not quite up to your standards, is there a way to add a second mated queen to help with the laying?  That is without killing the original queen?
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 01:37:10 AM »

Not reliably.  You need to remove the old queen to get them to accept the new one.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
adamant
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 339


Location: sewell n.j.


« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 06:00:33 AM »

Not reliably.  You need to remove the old queen to get them to accept the new one.

is it like adding a queen to a package? (place the queen box in the hive for a day or to so they get a chance to know her?) then release her?
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2012, 07:12:58 AM »

Bees in a package are looking for and needing a queen.  Bees with a queen are not looking for a new queen and are not needing a queen and will kill a queen if you introduce her.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Nate
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 60


Location: Wilkes County, NC


« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2012, 07:33:32 AM »

Even if you place the queen in a cage to introduce her, they'll kill her if another queen is already there, except when they don't.
Logged
adamant
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 339


Location: sewell n.j.


« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2012, 07:59:40 AM »

Bees in a package are looking for and needing a queen.  Bees with a queen are not looking for a new queen and are not needing a queen and will kill a queen if you introduce her.

So I would have to kill tHe queen and introduce a new queen first? I to do that I would do it as I would be installing one in a package?
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2012, 08:05:48 AM »

>So I would have to kill tHe queen and introduce a new queen first?

If you want any decent chance of success, yes.

>I to do that I would do it as I would be installing one in a package?

If I was installing one in a package I would direct release her.  If I was introducing one to a hive whose queen I just removed, I would wait until overnight and do a candy release.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfaqs.htm#requeening
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
syphon1
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13

Location: Central Alberta, Canada


« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 08:28:04 AM »

I was at a beekeeping school a couple of days ago(this was a private affair,  sponsored by a commercial beekeeper for costumers who buy bees from him.)   He told us he does not requeen hives.  If a hive is not up to par he will add a mated queen.

The way he does this is by driving the bees out of the hive with a fume board,  spraying the bees with a very strong mixture of vanilla and water, then spray the queen he is adding too.  He then places the queen into the cluster just above the entrance.  remove the fumeboard and the bees will return to the hive with the added queen.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2012, 02:08:19 AM »

I've often just added a queen cell... and that usually works fine.  But that is a virgin queen who emerges into the hive.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Jim 134
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2277


Location: Hinsdale, New Hampshire 03451 USA


WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2012, 04:45:22 AM »

Michael Bush

 I do know a mated Queen will not kill a developing Queens but will a mated Queen kill a a virgin Queen?? or will a virgin Queen kill a mated Queen ??



   BEE HAPPY Jim 134 Smiley   
Logged

"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.797 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page October 22, 2014, 12:27:54 AM