Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
November 25, 2014, 09:00:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: i cant belive how much it costs to convert an extractor.... :shock:  (Read 4295 times)
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« on: April 28, 2012, 01:53:11 AM »

Hi all

trying to convert a 12frame extractor into an electric one to give the arms a rest.

but the price for a geared motor is just insane then add in a cheap controller there goes like a $1000.... or 350kg of honey (at comm rates)

anyone got any other suggestions?Huh?
Logged
prestonpaul
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Location: Kennedys Creek, Victoria, Australia.


« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 02:46:36 AM »

I maybe able to help you out with a motor. They turn up occasionally at work, the position encoder on the end of the motor fails and they replace the whole lot! from memory I think they are rated at 70v dc and have a planetary reduction gearbox attached. All you would need then is a variable dc power supply. Let me have a look around tomorrow and see what I can find.
Paul.
Logged
G3farms
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1487


Location: concord, tn


« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 08:44:27 AM »

you can also rig one up using the parts off of an old treadmill.
Logged

see my swarms and cut outs at https://www.youtube.com/user/soapy22bullet?feature=mhee

those hot bees will have you steppin and a fetchin like your heads on fire and your @ss is a catchin!!!

Bees will be bees and do as they please!
nella
House Bee
**
Online Online

Posts: 201

Location: Allentown, Pa.


« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2012, 12:16:50 PM »

A tread mill or a kitchen aid cake or dough mixer with a place to attach a meat grinder to the mixer.
Logged
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8186

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2012, 12:20:37 PM »

When I get tired of spinning by hand, I just put my wife in charge.      evil
Logged
yockey5
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 677


Location: Hudson, Indiana


« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2012, 01:02:20 PM »

When I get tired of spinning by hand, I just put my wife in charge.      evil


Oh yeah!!!!!! lau
Logged
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8186

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2012, 05:00:25 PM »

Just ran across this and thought hey..............    Check out the motor.   Might not spin a 12 frame, but it is a start.

Honey-from the hive to the jar
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 528


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2012, 07:42:27 PM »

Check out this place mate, http://www.oatleyelectronics.com/

They have lots of good stuff Wink
Logged

Shane
bernsad
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 462

Location: NE. Melbourne, Australia


« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2012, 08:46:08 PM »

Looks like they do have lots of fun stuff, wish I knew what to do with it all.
Logged
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2012, 10:23:35 AM »

I maybe able to help you out with a motor. They turn up occasionally at work, the position encoder on the end of the motor fails and they replace the whole lot! from memory I think they are rated at 70v dc and have a planetary reduction gearbox attached. All you would need then is a variable dc power supply. Let me have a look around tomorrow and see what I can find.
Paul.


that would be awesome
Logged
Meadlover
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 216

Location: Gold Coast Hinterland, QLD, Australia


« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2012, 03:52:21 AM »

Check out this place mate, http://www.oatleyelectronics.com/

They have lots of good stuff Wink

I second that - Oatley electronics has lots of geared DC motors and motor speed controllers.
Well priced too./
Logged
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2012, 08:54:02 PM »

Hi Guys
I'm not to technical how do you power a DC motor for long periods of time? do you use a battery or is there some sort of converter?
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 528


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2012, 09:41:08 PM »

It will depend on what voltage motor you get. Oatley have a lot of different types ie 12v, 24 and 36v.  Depending on how long you want to run for you could just use a few old car batteries.
I haven't spoken with Oatley for a while but they used to be very good and would be able to help you with what you need. Give them a call and see if they can help.

You will need a motor(obviously) and you would be best with some kind of speed controller. They should be able to help with both of these. They will most likely be able to help with the power source also. Give them a go mate.
Logged

Shane
prestonpaul
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Location: Kennedys Creek, Victoria, Australia.


« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2012, 10:41:38 PM »

No luck with motors at work so Oatly would probably be the go. Have a look on eBay for power supplies. Much better than trying to run of batteries. I just searched for dc power supply and had heaps of them come up. All different voltages and capacities and surprisingly cheap. Another option for a motor could be to head to the wreckers yard and have a look for a windscreen wiper motor & gearbox or perhaps power window motors? It would help to know how you plan to mount the motor & roughly how many rpm do you crank the handle at when you are extracting.
Cheers.
Paul.
Logged
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2012, 01:58:47 AM »

Hi Guys

I need to spin 9-12 Frames of honey (2-3kg per frame)  27-36 kg between 30-200 rpm.

Not a clue how to mount the thing yet.

Might give them a call as see what they say
Logged
100 TD
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25

Location: Riverina


« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2012, 08:02:22 PM »

Hi all

trying to convert a 12frame extractor into an electric one to give the arms a rest.

but the price for a geared motor is just insane then add in a cheap controller there goes like a $1000.... or 350kg of honey (at comm rates)

anyone got any other suggestions?Huh?
Depending on gear ratio of extractor, or what gear reduction you use, you could use a 3 phase 6 pole motor (1000 rpm) and a single to 3 phase variable speed drive to power it.  .12 kW Motor is $100 and variable speed drive is $180. Alternatively, a cheap 1000W variable speed  rotary hammer drill from bunnings will cost about $100 or less. Be aware the latter option will spew carbon brush dust out it's vents while running.
Logged
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2012, 03:29:21 AM »


[/quote]
 hammer drill from bunnings will cost about $100 or less. Be aware the latter option will spew carbon brush dust out it's vents while running.
[/quote]

Hey TD

I'm trying to saty away from anything to "improvised" I want to be able to walk away from the extractor while its going, so while i really like some of the creative solutions out there, i reckon a motor and controller is the way to go
Logged
bigsting
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 51


Location: Murray lands SA


« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2012, 04:22:21 AM »

how about a 1hp 3 phase motor around $200 to 300 and a singel phase to 3 phase speed controler about 300 and some belts and pulleys to run it $150 1420rpm motor 3 inch pulley that runs to a 14inch  pulley and is cheap to fix most bit can be found on ebay and motor  and big pulley could be mounted under extractor with a shaft up the side with bearings on the side with two small pulley same size to run to the shaft on the extactor
Logged
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2012, 04:47:02 AM »

in the end i just ordered a conversion kit from brushy mountain bee farm in the states.

cheaper than aust by at least half.
Logged
Birdswood
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 87


Location: Strathfieldsaye Victoria


« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2012, 08:18:21 PM »

I'm going to get an complete extractor from the USA Eco. I got a quote from Mann Lake. Even with the shipping added, it comes out well under half the cost of purchasing one in Oz.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 2.94 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page November 07, 2014, 08:59:52 AM