Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 17, 2014, 06:26:35 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Video Editing Software - AVS Video Editor  (Read 2923 times)
Rex "Hawk" Smith
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 90

Location: Richardson, Tx


WWW
« on: March 28, 2012, 03:05:13 PM »

I have not used any video ediing software in the past - but came across AVS Video Editor.

Has anyone on BeeMaster used this software, and is it decent?  I videotaped today's trapout of a swarm that took up residence in a tree on Monday (so yes - it's now not a swarm any more, but a colony) - and want to edit out sections, and maybe do some fast-forwarding of other sections.

Will AVS do the job, or should I look around at other packages?
Logged

hardwood
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3482


Location: Osteen, Fl (just south of Daytona)

Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude


« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 03:33:50 PM »

Most computers come equipped with some type of editing software  (windows live movie maker for one) and video devices often come with software as well. I use windows live myself. I'm sure that I could produce much better videos if I sat down for a few days and learned the program better but I'm much too lazy for that!

Scott
Logged

"In the first place, we should insist that if the immigrant who comes here in good faith becomes an American and assimilates himself to us, he shall be treated on an exact equality with everyone else, for it is an outrage to discriminate against any such man because of creed, or birthplace, or origin. But this is predicated upon the person's becoming in every facet an American, and nothing but an American...There can be no divided allegiance here. Any man who says he is an American, but something else also, isn't an American at all. We have room for but one flag, the American flag...We have room for but one language here, and that is the English language...And we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a loyalty to the American people."

Theodore Roosevelt 1907
G3farms
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1485


Location: concord, tn


« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 05:49:31 PM »

I'm with Scott on this one and use the windows live movie maker also. It wasn't too stressful to figure a few things out, just play around a little. It is the first one I ever used and went pretty well I thought.

Just ask or pm if you need a little help getting started.
Logged

see my swarms and cut outs at https://www.youtube.com/user/soapy22bullet?feature=mhee

those hot bees will have you steppin and a fetchin like your heads on fire and your @ss is a catchin!!!

Bees will be bees and do as they please!
Rex "Hawk" Smith
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 90

Location: Richardson, Tx


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 07:13:35 PM »

Thanks!  I went ahead and used AVS - and the un-registered version puts their logo in various spots in the video.  Not a big deal - but annoying.  I'll probably register it tonight, and re-make the output file.

As was recommended - I just tried Windows Live Movie Maker.  Unfortunately, it doesn't play well with .mov files that are output from my daughters' camera.  So I'll probably stick with AVS.  Today was my first time to play around with it - and I have decided I like it.

I'm sure that her camera came with a similar package - but it's at her mother's house - so I'll get that later on.

The only issues I ran into was that my computer is about 4-5 years old, and when I had the whole project loaded - it got choppy if I tried having any other programs open in the background.  Sometime I'll get a faster computer with a LOT more RAM than 2Gigs.  (Gees...  I remember when I managed the computer store in 1989, and we were *upgrading* to a big 128k of RAM that "no-one would ever use or take advantage of".  ha!
Logged

AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8131

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2012, 06:38:24 PM »

My computer is a 07 model and I use windows movie maker.    It does get slow editing, but it works out fine in the end.   And movie maker is already loaded on windows.   grin
Logged
nietssemaj
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 234

Location: Tallahassee, FL


« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2013, 05:15:32 AM »

A little late in the reply but I use AVS Video Editor and Windows Movie Maker pales in comparison.

AVS is comparable in features to Adobe Premier at a fraction of the cost. Plus if you buy the lifetime license you get upgrades for free forever, though if you buy a new computer you have to purchase the software again. But at $59 big whoop.

« Last Edit: June 09, 2013, 05:39:18 AM by nietssemaj » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.13 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page September 13, 2014, 12:07:09 PM