Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 31, 2014, 03:04:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Best locations for your SHB traps  (Read 1203 times)
Lord Viykor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 54


Location: Just north of Brisbane , SE Queensland (humid subtropical zone)


WWW
« on: December 29, 2011, 07:05:06 AM »

Still very new to keeping bees and am rather unsure of the best place to put my SHB traps.

At present I added a super to my hive today. In the super I have put 2 AJ traps into it, on the bottom board I have a DE beetle trap. I've only had the DE trap for a little while, and checked it twice. Both times bees have managed to get into it which is a bit of a worry.

Should I add a couple more AJ traps to the brood box as well?

Cheers,
LV
Logged
the-ecohouse.com
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 263


Location: Mallee Australia


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 08:32:22 AM »

Hi LV

I tried the AJ traps, not a big fan.  bees get in it as you have noted and you always need to open the boxes to check the progress.

I have made a number of prototype traps, the ones that are installed in the bottom board or in the brood box always yield better results.

If you want to keep using AJ's then put some in the brood box


omo
Logged
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8113

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 11:23:01 AM »

Look into oil trays under a bottom screen and beetle barns also.    Use as many traps as you can afford.   Top to bottom.   Kill as many as you can.   Also look into Gardstar to see if it is listed for use down there as a ground drench.   
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 519


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2011, 03:31:11 AM »

I have 2 hives at my place at the moment. One has a Freeman beetle trap(SBB and oil tray) the other has no trap. The hive with the Freeman trap has zero beetles crawling around (I know this because we did a full inspection on it today) but has a few beetles in the trap every now and then. The hive with out a trap has dozens of beetles crawling around. I am very happy with the Freeman trap and will be using them on all my hives.
Logged

Shane
Lord Viykor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 54


Location: Just north of Brisbane , SE Queensland (humid subtropical zone)


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2011, 05:47:48 PM »

I have 2 hives at my place at the moment. One has a Freeman beetle trap(SBB and oil tray) the other has no trap. The hive with the Freeman trap has zero beetles crawling around (I know this because we did a full inspection on it today) but has a few beetles in the trap every now and then. The hive with out a trap has dozens of beetles crawling around. I am very happy with the Freeman trap and will be using them on all my hives.

Is this the one you're talking about Shane? freemanbeetletrapDOTcom/menu_page/about_the_trap
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 519


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2011, 06:05:21 PM »

Yeah mate, thats it.
Logged

Shane
Country Heart
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 225


Location: San Jose, California


« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2012, 04:16:59 PM »

The Freeeman Trap looks great.

Do you leave it on all the time, or just use it when you sugar dust?
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 519


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2012, 11:23:00 PM »

I leave them on all the time. I have had the trays out during the heavy rain we've been getting lately though cause they fill up with water. I don't sugar dust at all as I have read bad reports about the after effects.
Logged

Shane
Lord Viykor
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 54


Location: Just north of Brisbane , SE Queensland (humid subtropical zone)


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2012, 01:34:34 AM »

I leave them on all the time. I have had the trays out during the heavy rain we've been getting lately though cause they fill up with water. I don't sugar dust at all as I have read bad reports about the after effects.

Did you paint the timber on you freeman Shane? It looks like it's unpainted on their website, I wasn't sure how long it would last, in SE Queensland.
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 519


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2012, 08:11:19 AM »

Yeah I paint the outsides that are exposed to the weather.
Logged

Shane
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.222 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page July 09, 2014, 04:26:40 PM