Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 21, 2014, 07:04:16 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Caught a swarm today  (Read 782 times)
Johnny253
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 92

Location: South Australia


« on: September 14, 2011, 09:49:12 AM »

I had a swarm of bees come through today. They were buzzing around for ages and moving from place to place until they finally decided to stop in a roof truss of a shed. I put an empty super with some part filled frames from another hive underneath, hoping they would move in but I ended up having to climb up a ladder to get them. Obviously I couldn't shake them so I had to brush them onto frames and bring them down into the box. The brushing seemed to agitate the bees a bit, is there any way I could have got around this? I eventually got most of them and hopefully got the queen!
Logged
iddee
Galactic Bee
******
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 5979

Location: Randleman, NC


« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2011, 10:08:39 AM »

A wide plastic scraper, a sheet of cardboard, even a hive tool. Sliding an edge under them and making them fall is many times better than brushing.
Logged

"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*
yockey5
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 677


Location: Hudson, Indiana


« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2011, 08:43:46 PM »

When all else fails, I just start bringing them into a box with my bare hands. Never been stung this way..... yet.
Logged
Johnny253
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 92

Location: South Australia


« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2011, 10:16:56 AM »

Thanks guys, I'll avoid the brush in future. You're a tough man Yockey, like your work!
Logged
Pete
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 203

Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia


« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2011, 06:19:24 AM »

I take an ordinary dustpan and brush. Some of the brushes are softer that bee brushes. But i try not to brush and just use the pan to scoop.
Logged
Harpo
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 68

Location: Kandos NSW


« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2011, 06:21:49 AM »

As a newbie I had help with my first and they grabbed a frame and sort of zig zag'd up from the bottom of the swarm so they landed on the frame - that frame was put in and she grabbed another... she then let the bees figure out the queen was in the box... sure enought they started marching in in rows...  shocked was amazing to watch...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.241 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 12, 2014, 03:16:58 PM
anything