Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 19, 2014, 04:29:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Frozen frames... what to do?  (Read 442 times)
TerraJoy
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 16

Location: Fieldbrook, CA


« on: June 12, 2011, 01:39:11 PM »

I had a laying worker (Akk!!) and used the shake out method to combine two hives.  I then took the frames (full of drone larva, multi egg cells, pollen and nectar) and froze them.  I now want to use the frames in a swarm capture hive because they have drawn comb... what do I need to do? Can I let them thaw out a bit and put them in?
Logged
Bee-Bop
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 689


Location: Southern Missouri


« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 03:04:51 PM »

First off;
They need to thaw out completely, get up to outside temp !!

Then they need to be put into a active cell to be cleaned out by the bees.

When they are cleaned of all the dead eggs, larva, etc. they can be used in a trap.

Live & learn.

Bee-Bop
Logged

" If Your not part of the genetic solution of breeding mite-free bees, then You're part of the problem "
schawee
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 975


Location: PAULINA,LOUISIANA


« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 03:10:13 PM »

i agree with bee-bop on this one.      ...schawee
Logged

BEEKEEPER OF THE SWAMP
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.137 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page November 23, 2014, 07:44:34 PM
anything