Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 29, 2014, 04:23:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: extractor use  (Read 1575 times)
bill
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 207

Location: midland texas


« on: June 25, 2005, 01:07:44 AM »

I have a huge extractor. I cant remember how many frames it takes but it will do a huge amount of frames. trouble is I only have one small super about full..  can I do just that much. and not lose half the honey trying to get it all out of there? I have no honey and you know how that is I guess. Anyway I have never used it before. It is not installed anywhere yet either,I don't want to destroy my drawn frames and I can't get the honey out without destroying the wax. I tried that with a couple of frames I removed last time. The size of this looks like it would hold about fifty or sixty gallons. I am hoping in the heat of the day( 100F) I should be able to drain most of it. Is that a reasonable assumption? thanx
Logged

billiet
Miss Chick-a-BEE
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 300


Location: Eastman, Georgia USA


« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2005, 08:53:20 AM »

That is a big extractor!

I'd say.... even though you will have some loss, due to the wall space on the extractor, I think I'd still go for it. The benefit of giving back the wax is there. And you won't really lose too much. Maybe something like a quart? Michael might know better about how much stays on the walls of those big ones.

Any way you can reach in and scrap the sides with a spatula?

Beth
Logged
Phoenix
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 139

Location: Middle of The Great Lakes State, Milford, MI


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2005, 11:07:21 AM »

Unfortunately Bill that extractor is way too big to extract just one super, you will lose qute a bit of honey, not only on the sides, but on the bottom and near the valve.  But then again, some honey is better than no honey.
Logged

Miss Chick-a-BEE
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 300


Location: Eastman, Georgia USA


« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2005, 08:54:34 PM »

I've never even seen one that big myself. Only trying to imagine it. So don't fully listen to me.  embarassed

I tend to squeeze most of my wax for the honey. It's messy, but the bees do alright building the wax back up.

Beth
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13583


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2005, 07:49:35 PM »

>I tend to squeeze most of my wax for the honey. It's messy, but the bees do alright building the wax back up.

Trust me, extracting is every bit as messy.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
bill
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 207

Location: midland texas


« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2005, 08:06:11 PM »

When I said It would hold about fiftyt gallons I was just comparing it to a fifty five gallon drum, it of course doesn.t hold that much honey I guess. I have the bee escape in and I will try to extract it in a couple of days. I will let you all know how it comes out. how much is in a small full super? it feels pretty heavy.. Cheesy
Logged

billiet
Daddy-T
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20

Location: Eastern Ohio


« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2005, 06:43:39 AM »

We bought a Walter Kelly 33 frame extractor this spring, used. It holds 33 Small, Med, or Large frames. It is about the same size as what you are describing. Ours has 3 settings on a manual clutch setup. We will be using it the first time the 9th of July. We have about 8 small honey supers capped to extract. We invited the whole family to help, and we made a picnic out of it. I was surprised, I have 8 siblings and when I started inviting a few of them, I started getting calls from the rest wanting to come out and help. Now they told their friends and some of them are coming too.. Should be fun...........

Tim Cheesy
Logged

Pass it on to the kids
bill
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 207

Location: midland texas


« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2005, 10:27:02 AM »

I have decided to set mine up in the greenhouse and try it . I need to learn how to run it anyway and I do not want to crush my wax up I will post how it turns out
Logged

billiet
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.178 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page May 17, 2014, 04:50:55 PM