Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 21, 2014, 04:22:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Should I remove drone comb to reduce varroa mites  (Read 1151 times)
seabees
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada


« on: May 20, 2011, 12:13:16 AM »

I formed 2 nucs from 1 hive so now I have 3 . They are all doing fine. I seem to have queens. Anyhow my question is now that I don't need the drones anymore should I cut out any drone comb to reduce varroa mites? I use 10 frame deeps, top entrance, SBB,homemade powdered sugar every 10 days, leave them lots of honey and pollen,alternate a frame of small cell wax foundation with  a frame of starter strip.  I still have more mites than I think is okay!
Logged

Debbie
AllenF
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8136

Location: Hiram, Georgia


« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 01:55:11 PM »

Removing drone brood is a method or killing some mites but it is kinda labor intensive.  I bought 2 of those green drone frames years ago and used them one.  Not for me I guess.   A break in the brood cycle helps a little also when you make splits and let them raise their own queen.   
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13663


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 11:15:17 PM »

If there are a lot of mites in the drone brood, sure... but if not, I'd leave it.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
jmblakeney
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 483


Location: Anderson Co., Tennessee,

James


« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 11:29:51 PM »

If there are a lot of mites in the drone brood, sure

Michael, how do you know if there mites in the drone brood or not?

James
Logged

"I believe the best social program is a job...." - Ronald Reagan
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13663


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2011, 12:36:02 AM »

You take an uncapping fork and pull a bunch out and look.  If they are heavily infested, you pull the rest out.  Or if you don't have an uncapping fork, make do with something else.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
seabees
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada


« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2011, 01:16:06 AM »

Great answer. I'm going to do that.
Logged

Debbie
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.259 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page September 19, 2014, 10:24:35 AM