Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 20, 2014, 01:39:16 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Size advise needed; deep vs medium  (Read 4291 times)
ronwhite3030
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 218

Location: Red Bluff, CA


« Reply #40 on: March 31, 2011, 01:37:35 PM »

The Killion method for Comb honey production uses splitting by the box with deeps, I think he is a bit and by a bit I mean alot older then MB. I think his father also used it before him.
Logged
FRAMEshift
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1681


Location: North Carolina


« Reply #41 on: March 31, 2011, 02:08:16 PM »

The Killion method for Comb honey production uses splitting by the box with deeps, I think he is a bit and by a bit I mean alot older then MB. I think his father also used it before him.

Do you have a link to something describing how he splits by the box.  You mean that he distributes boxes randomly without regard to the contents?
Logged

"You never can tell with bees."  --  Winnie-the-Pooh
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13475


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #42 on: March 31, 2011, 11:40:27 PM »

My point on boxes that are half the size, is that the resources are fairly evenly distributed with no effort beyond the sequence of doing every other box.  This is not true when you have deeps.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
FRAMEshift
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1681


Location: North Carolina


« Reply #43 on: April 01, 2011, 12:46:38 AM »

Michael, you mentioned that you need 4 eight frame mediums going into buildup to have a reliable "split by box".  Do you mean that you need a minimum of 4 boxes full of bees in order to split that into two hives of two boxes each?   Just how high can you stack those 8 frame mediums before they fall over?  grin
Logged

"You never can tell with bees."  --  Winnie-the-Pooh
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13475


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #44 on: April 02, 2011, 05:21:31 AM »

>Do you mean that you need a minimum of 4 boxes full of bees in order to split that into two hives of two boxes each?

That is best both for distributing and for "critical mass".

>   Just how high can you stack those 8 frame mediums before they fall over?

I have them all up against each other and sometimes they are higher than I can reach, but that's also why none of my stands are taller than 3 1/2".
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.715 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page April 07, 2014, 04:50:59 AM