Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 18, 2014, 05:56:17 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How many supers?  (Read 2019 times)
bassman1977
"King Bee"
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1787

Location: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania


« on: June 03, 2005, 02:01:54 PM »

Some how I managed to put this in the wrong forum topic....

How many supers should I put on?  I started my hive about two weeks ago currently I have a medium super on top of the hive body.  Obviously this won't be enough.  What I had planned to do is use the body, the medium super and a shallow super for the bees.  I'd then put the excluder on, then above that, eventually work up to 3 shallows and 3 mediums.  I live on a farm and there are numerous other farms in the area so I don't think my ladies will have a hard time filling that up.  Any thoughts?
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')
thegolfpsycho
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 583

Location: canyon rim, ut


« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2005, 02:08:28 PM »

A little cut and paste action.


With a new colony, I wouldn't get in a big rush to add room yet. Especially if your adding it with foundation. Drawn comb is a valuable commodity. Get the brood box mostly drawn out, then add the next box. They have to control the temps in the hive, so too much room can be detrimental for a small colony. Sometimes things happen fast, (I'm adding a 3rd box to a couple packages started 6 weeks ago), but several colonys started at the same time have just begun to work the second box. You will probably find it beneficial to standardize your equipment as well. Sometimes you need to move things around, and with all different sizes of equipment, it doesn't work out too well.
Logged
SherryL
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 241


Location: Wis/IL


« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2005, 03:52:35 PM »

Yeah, my question is why all the different size boxes for brood?  Guess I've just never heard of that.  Plus, when it comes to manipulating frames, splitting hives, or just moving honey or brood frames, now you can only move to like-size boxes.
Logged
bassman1977
"King Bee"
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1787

Location: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania


« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2005, 03:56:39 PM »

The majority of my boxes were inherited from my dad who gave up due to numerous bear attacks.  Every year his hives were attacked.  He gave me what he had, hence the various boxes.  The ones I am buying now are mediums.  I'll eventually get my hive more standardized when I add hives should I have more success than he did.
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')
SherryL
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 241


Location: Wis/IL


« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2005, 04:17:49 PM »

Install an electric fence.  

My bees are in far northern Wis., tons of black bear.  I had one hive knocked over about 2 weeks ago - I think we left one of the 'gates' to the fence open - but no damage was done to the boxes (see my post  marked "long".)  

Anyway, it wasn't a bear that did knocking over and if we'd had the fence fully closed whatever it was that got in wouldn't have.

I understand you not wanting to make a huge investment with new boxes right away, but I would definitely spend $100 and get a fence up if you think you're in an area prone to roaming bear.
Logged
bassman1977
"King Bee"
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1787

Location: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania


« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2005, 06:04:09 PM »

Luckily for me I live further away from the woods than my dad does and we don't live anywhere near each other.  I just have farms nearby, that's why I am thinking my bees will do better than his.  I doubt he ever thought about an electric fence and if he did, zoning laws may have had something to do with it considering he's in a development...who knows.  Thanks for the tips though.  I'd appreciate if there's anything else.
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13475


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2005, 12:04:26 PM »

Assuming a booming hive, not a struggling one, bursting at the seams, I'd put four or five on.  They need room to spread out the nectar to dry.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.112 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page April 11, 2014, 10:03:14 PM
anything