Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 25, 2014, 11:21:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TBH question  (Read 885 times)
gardeningfireman
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 564


Location: Richfield, OH (Summit County)


« on: July 20, 2010, 09:41:09 PM »

A friend just built two KTBH's for me because I removed a colony from the wall and floor of his house. One is full size. The other is divided into two independent spaces. One holds 17 bars and the other holds 16 bars. I planned on using this divided hive to move my two nucs into. My question is; Are the two sections in this divided TBH large enough to maintain colonies in, or should I get rid of the divider board and just use it for one colony?
Logged

luvin honey
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1540

Location: Central WI


« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2010, 05:26:25 PM »

Last year, my 3# Italian packages quickly grew to fill 4-foot topbar hives and swarm, possibly twice. Just my experience.
Logged

The pedigree of honey
Does not concern the bee;
A clover, any time, to him
Is aristocracy.
---Emily Dickinson
irerob
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 164

Location: High Springs FL


« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 12:23:57 AM »

  I would say it depends on how long you plan to leave them in there. If its just for a few months i think you would be OK.  My TBH is a little better than 4 feet with 30 some thing bars(38 I think). I housed a swarm in it this spring  and in 6 months they have filled all but the last 5 bars.
 Of course that's only my 2 cents and  they're are lots here with much more experience than me.
Logged

You don't need a parachute to sky dive.... you do how ever need one to sky dive twice.
 KJ4QMH.
gardeningfireman
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 564


Location: Richfield, OH (Summit County)


« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2010, 08:25:15 AM »

I think you guys are right! The more I thought about it, and the more videos I watched, I realized that the split hive will be good for a double nuc, but not a permanent home. I will take out the permanent divider and use the movable boards. Then I'll have a total of four 48" TBH's so I can put each nuc in their own hive, and use the other two for upcoming cutouts. Thanks!
Logged

Tommyt
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 855


Location: TampaBay Fl


« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 07:11:01 PM »

If your TBH is growing to fast or so good and you don't want to swarm
I often wondered if a Super would work you would have to pull a bar or 2
and change your roof then the super would become ? thats what I plan
If it ever happens to me
I also spoke with the state Guy the other day and he said as a hobby I should
Keep 3 Colony's this way if one is weak or fails you have the others to Build off of
and won't get wiped out SO as I type bee-less (doing a Trap out)for free bees
I'm Planing on building two more TBH's

Tommyt
Logged

"Not everything found on the internet is accurate"
Abraham Lincoln
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.09 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page June 29, 2014, 10:40:54 AM