Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 18, 2014, 07:18:30 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 Quick Clarification Questions  (Read 654 times)
Chrisd4421
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 51

Location: New Jersey


« on: July 02, 2010, 08:07:55 AM »

hi all
   Two questions - First, I am with my first hive - all mediums - no foundation - I have 3 mediums on already, the third being 3/4 full of comb.  Do I add my 4th medium now?  Or wait until it is 3/4 full of brood and honey?  Second - how high in terms of mediums should a hive go?  Logically I would say 6 - but I don't know.

Thanks
/Chris in NJ
Logged
BeeHopper
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1122

Location: Hopelessly Lost


« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 09:10:28 AM »

hi all
   Two questions - First, I am with my first hive - all mediums - no foundation - I have 3 mediums on already, the third being 3/4 full of comb.  Do I add my 4th medium now?  Or wait until it is 3/4 full of brood and honey?  Second - how high in terms of mediums should a hive go?  Logically I would say 6 - but I don't know.

Thanks
/Chris in NJ


Chris,

You'll get different opinions on this one. I would add a box if it were 7 frames FULL of whatever. If they are just building comb and not filling it, I would add another medium just to see what they would do, normally I would not give them too much room. As far as how many mediums high, I would go as far as they need it , keep in mind that 3 mediums are the equivalent of 2 deeps here in South Jersey for overwintering.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13967


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2010, 04:21:46 AM »

Basically three mediums equals to deeps.  I've had hives stacked up as high as I could reach starting at the ground.  I've had them on 8" stands that were so high I had to put the top box on with a ladder...
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
MacfromNS
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 126


Location: Nova Scotia Canada


« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2010, 02:38:36 PM »

Now that would be a pain in the butt to have to get the ladder out. Smiley
Logged

The most beautiful thing is to see a person smiling.
And even more beautiful is knowing that you are the reason behind it!!!
Mac
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.441 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page November 23, 2014, 07:28:45 PM
anything