Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 25, 2014, 11:24:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New queen NO brood  (Read 1473 times)
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« on: May 03, 2010, 05:42:35 PM »

I started a nuc a few weeks ago to prevent swarming.I put 4 frame brood and honey in 5 frame nuc.
No sign of any cells and all brood hatched.DO I need to add new frame of brood before installing queen?
Logged
Jahjude
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 144


Location: JAMAICA


« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 08:58:24 PM »

If there's no more uncapped brood an not alot of capped then i'd say most definately since there'll be a huge gap between present bees and those that'll be produced by ur new queen.....
What did u do purchase a new queen??
Logged

I've chosen understanding over knowledge-since knowledge is all about knowing where to find facts and understanding is knowing how to manipulate knowledge...I've also chosen knowledge over beliefs!! We all need to..
RayMarler
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 515


Location: Marysville, CA


« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2010, 05:31:32 AM »

What age of brood frames did you use? You'll need a frame with some nice amount of eggs in it to get queen cells built well. Make sure, also, that there is enough nurse bees in to cover the frames well.  Since they won't have large field force bees, a feeder is always a good idea.
Logged

Sitting in the shade, drinking lemon aid.
Enjoying the breeze while counting the bees.
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2010, 06:04:48 AM »

There are no capped brood, all uncapped and I have a new queen coming Friday.Is bauxite plant still at Discovery Bay,
Erected that in about 1965.
Logged
Jahjude
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 144


Location: JAMAICA


« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2010, 06:21:07 AM »

There are no capped brood, all uncapped and I have a new queen coming Friday.Is bauxite plant still at Discovery Bay,
Erected that in about 1965.

Well if brood is uncapped then for now that's not so bad,after queen has been accepted and laying u may add a frame or two of capped/uncapped brood to boost hive afro

Yup,(KAISER)bauxite plant's still there.....Are u saying that u assisted with the erection of that plant in '65??
Logged

I've chosen understanding over knowledge-since knowledge is all about knowing where to find facts and understanding is knowing how to manipulate knowledge...I've also chosen knowledge over beliefs!! We all need to..
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2010, 10:07:20 AM »

Yep,I took cranes down there out of Miami,stayed there for 6 months .Bad erection crew from California and building fell down on first try killed 6 souls.I have read that if I put brood in they will accept queen better, what do you think?
Logged
Jahjude
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 144


Location: JAMAICA


« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2010, 05:37:41 PM »

Wow dat was bad,Thks for  da hiistory lesson tho.
Yeah sounds pretty much ok-My chain of thot was if u put brood in now with eggs then they may start building emergency queens and by the time ur queen arrives it may be a bit technical to introduce her(not sure,just a thot).
I'd introduce brood same time with queen or few hrs b4 or after Wink
Logged

I've chosen understanding over knowledge-since knowledge is all about knowing where to find facts and understanding is knowing how to manipulate knowledge...I've also chosen knowledge over beliefs!! We all need to..
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2010, 05:56:19 PM »

GOOD THINKING,THANKS
Logged
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2010, 05:02:24 PM »

Went to install queen an had some capped brood,not much but some,could not find queen. I borrowed some more frames from other hives and made another nuc with new queen.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.237 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page October 19, 2014, 01:22:25 PM