Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 25, 2014, 12:14:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: !st year queen  (Read 858 times)
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« on: April 08, 2010, 06:09:54 AM »

Is it true that hives with 1st year queens usually don't swarm?
Logged
msully
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 40

Location: Vancouver, WA


« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2010, 03:07:51 PM »

Well my first hive, a package, did swarm about 6 weeks after hiving them.  I blame myself, I added the 2nd deep but didn't move any frames of brood up to encourage them to move into the box.  My neighbor wasn't at all worried about the swarm that landed on his roof....
Logged

"Indecision may or may not be my problem" Jimmy Buffett
luvin honey
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1540

Location: Central WI


« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2010, 03:10:52 PM »

Is it true that hives with 1st year queens usually don't swarm?
My 2 hives with first-year queens swarmed at least once last year Tongue
Logged

The pedigree of honey
Does not concern the bee;
A clover, any time, to him
Is aristocracy.
---Emily Dickinson
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2010, 08:45:52 PM »

Well,I got my answer, because my 1st year queen swarmed today.They ended up going
back into hive.I immediately split 4 frames of brood and added another super.I had checked
5 days ago and she was not laying in 1st box above broodbox.They filled it with brood and nectar
in 5 days so hive was crowded.When I pulled frames I checked for brood and eggs an saw a
queen cell which I put in nuc.To my suprise as soon as I closed nuc up I heard a queen piping.
If everything works it was my lucky day.
Logged
rast
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 553

Location: Mascotte, Fl.


« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2010, 08:58:59 PM »

 The genetic makeup of queens can be very different. Some lay workers that will swarm at the drop of a hat, while others will build burr comb everywhere before swarming.
Logged

Fools argue; wise men discuss.
    --Paramahansa Yogananda
b reeves
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 70

Location: Plant City Fl.


« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2010, 08:53:55 AM »

Did you get your queen wing clipped that could be why they returned, this time of year if the queen feels she has run out of room she will swarm, keep one super ahead of them,  count back from hearing the queen and see when they decided to make a queen, was it on the bottom of the frame or in the middle?
Bob
Logged
greezykid
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34

Location: ocala fl.


« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2010, 09:00:03 PM »

They ran out of room because I didn't think they would fill medium super in 5 days.I did not ask for clipped wing and doubt if David Miksa does it.
I split my other hive today which did have a queen cell in it.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.193 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page October 20, 2014, 08:40:42 AM