Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
November 20, 2014, 10:13:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: home for swarm  (Read 1062 times)
bill
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 207

Location: midland texas


« on: May 02, 2005, 10:40:14 PM »

I would like to know what should go into a hive for a captured swarm in order to sustain it. I got a small swarm and it left. I am pretty sure it is because I did not put it in the right environment. I have no drawn comb  but I could get some frames out of my one good hive which I dont want to hurt too bad. It was a very small swarm and maybe just didn't have enough bees to operate,but I hate losing it just the same. next time I would like to get a home prepared in case I get another one, but I dont want to let any good frames go bad'  like minimum and maximum thank you  a lot
Logged

billiet
Miss Chick-a-BEE
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 300


Location: Eastman, Georgia USA


« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2005, 10:45:20 PM »

From what I understand, they will stay more often if given a frame or two of brood to take over.

Beth
Logged
Jerrymac
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6047


Location: Wolfforth Texas


« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2005, 04:28:18 AM »

How long did you have the swarm before it left?

Do you know where the swarm came from?

How did you have the hive set up?
Logged

rainbow sunflower  Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.   rainbow sunflower

 Jerry

My pictures.Type in password;  youview
     http://photobucket.com/albums/v225/Jerry-mac/
bill
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 207

Location: midland texas


« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2005, 08:38:40 AM »

I had it about a week. All it had was syrup and foundation which I realize now is silly. but I was wanting to combine it and its queen with a nuc that I cant find the queen in, but I was not real sure that it was queenless and I had already made two nucs out of my good hive and was hesitant to weaken it further.  Now I want to keep a kit for small swarms. I bought two queens this year but it looks like both of them are gone. and I just might not be able to manage fifteen bucks a pop to requeen again so I am going to build up on swarms if I can. at least untill I can recognize a queen when I see one. the trouble I was real busy when this swarm came along and I just bungled it. so I want to put a kit together so it doesn't happen again. My other swarm survived fine by taking over one of my nuks whick was well supplied. so now aI have a strong but already used about six frames out of, in my nucs, a nuc whick apparently is in good shape but probably queenless. I have collected two swarms but this one is gone I was thinking I might use a short frame  of honey  for feeding a swarm, if one comes along.
Logged

billiet
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13859


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2005, 09:24:30 AM »

A strong swarm most always does well no matter what you do.  Smiley  But youc an give them some brood if you like.  I don't.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.213 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page November 08, 2014, 08:58:31 PM